Denly & Davidson-Richards win Players of the Year

Friday 29th September 2017

Denly & Davidson-Richards win Players of the Year

Academy graduates Joe Denly and Alice Davidson-Richards were named players of the year at the 2017 Spitfire Kent Cricket Awards.

Denly won the public vote after a record-breaking season, pipping skipper Sam Northeast and all-rounder Darren Stevens.

The Canterbury-born right-hander also earned the Batsman of the Year award after a prolific season in all formats, scoring 1,895 runs in 2017.

He broke the club’s record individual T20 score twice, shared a world record opening stand of 207 with Daniel Bell-Drummond and finished as the top scorer in the NatWest T20 Blast.

The 31-year-old also shared a club record stand of 382 with Sean Dickson, who himself recorded the second highest score in the club’s history (318).

Denly, the top English run-scorer in county cricket in 2017, said: “It’s been a good year personally and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it.

“The club record stands with Daniel in the T20 and Sean in the Championship were great achievements.

“My century in front of a packed house at The Oval was pretty special and to beat Surrey made it even better.”

Dickson was recognised on the night as he collected Fielder of the Year prize, voted for by the club’s coaches.

Tunbridge Wells all-rounder Davidson-Richards enjoyed a superb first season as women’s vice-captain and picked up Bowler and Batsman of the Year after topping the charts for runs and wickets.

The 23-year-old England Academy player came through the academy alongside captain Tammy Beaumont and deputised for the England opener by leading the side for the first tme this summer.

ADR took 17 wickets to pip Megan Belt and Tash Farrant to pick up the bowler of the year prize.

She emphasised her all-round game by contributing 248 runs ahead of Lottie Bryan and Phoebe Franklin to win the Batsman of the Year.

Davidson-Richards said: “It was a tough season and we were delighted to stay up in both formats.

“At the start of the year, we were without seven of the squad that won the double and it was nice to see the younger girls step up and contribute runs and wickets.”

Franklin did pick up an award as the 19-year-old Greenwich-born all-rounder won Fielder of the Year.

Chief executive Jamie Clifford said: “The club is disappointed not to achieve all our ambitions this season.

“The men started strongly in the push for promotion in the Specsavers County Championship but fell short in all formats.

“Our women’s side should be proud of their efforts in maintaining top-flight status in both competitions after a transitional year with a new coach, captain and several very young players making strides.

“Preparations for 2018 are already underway and we will take a good look at 2017.

“I’d like to thank all our members, supporters and sponsors for their backing. We never take you for granted.”

Click here to take part in our supporters’ survey >

WOMEN’S AWARDS with Canterbury Christ Church University

Batsman of the Year: Alice Davidson-Richards

Bowler of the Year: Alice Davidson-Richards

Fielder of the Year: Phoebe Franklin

Player of the Year: Alice Davidson-Richards

MEN’S AWARDS with Spitfire

Batsman of the Year: Joe Denly

Bowler of the Year: Darren Stevens

Fielder of the Year: Sean Dickson

Player of the Year: Joe Denly

Kent Cricket would like to thank Spitfire and Canterbury Christ Church University for their continued support of the Awards and Kent Cricket.