Kent duo in England Academy squad

Friday 20th October 2017


Kent duo in England Academy squad

Kent pair Izzy Cloke and Alice Davidson-Richards have been selected in the England Women’s Senior Academy this winter.

The Tunbridge Wells duo are part of a 14-strong squad to enhance the skills of players to ensure they are equipped to perform for England on the international stage.

Vice-captain Davidson-Richards won three awards including Player of the Year as the 23-year-old had an impressive county season after joining the senior squad in a pre-season training camp.

Cloke, 17, (pictured above) became a regular in the Kent women’s side after featuring in the England Women’s Academy last winter.

Women’s High Performance Manager Jonathan Finch said: “Izzy Cloke has made the transition from the EWA after impressing over the summer and they will join a squad with several players looking to push on to international honours in the near future.

“We are excited by the players and the coaching team we have working with this group and following on from their initial camp in Desert Springs, the younger players will be working towards a tri-series with Australia and South Africa next year.”

Initially the EWA will see a smaller number of players on the programme with a view to working closely with the Regional Development Centres and counties to grow the group as the winter progresses.

Both the EWSA and EWA will be overseen by Head Coach John Stanworth, supported by a team of coaches who will deliver across all levels of the England pathway.

Former county cricketers Tom Smith and Gareth Breese will assist Stanworth in the day-to-day coaching requirements of the two programmes with other specialist coaches working with the squad.

EWSA squad: Hollie Armitage (Yorkshire), Ellen Burt (Sussex), Lauren Bell (Berkshire), Georgie Boyce (Nottinghamshire), Izzy Cloke (Kent), Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent), Freya Davies (Sussex), Charlie Dean (Hampshire), Sophie Dunkley (Middlesex), Katie George (Hampshire), Emma Lamb (Lancashire), Bryony Smith (Surrey), Linsey Smith (Sussex), Ellie Threlkeld (Lancashire)

EWA squad: Alice Dyson (Derbyshire), Danielle Gibson (Gloucestershire), Sarah Glenn (Derbyshire), Amy Gordon (Surrey), Eva Gray (Surrey), Rhianna Southby (Surrey), Alexandra Travers (Surrey), Katie Wolfe (Middlesex)

Canterbury Christ Church is the proud major sponsor of Kent Women’s Cricket