Trio earn Academy scholarships

Wednesday 15th November 2017


Trio earn Academy scholarships

A trio of new scholars have signed contracts for the 2017/18 Kent Cricket Academy programme.

Left-arm pace bowler Ben Mills, opening batsman Kashif Ali and England Women’s Academy all-rounder Izzy Cloke (pictured above) will be part of an eight-strong programme of specialist coaching and personal development sessions.

Whitstable seamer Mills, 15, has represented Kent at under-15 and under-17 level and impressed at this year’s Bunbury Festival.

Right-hander Ali, 19, played in Kent’s second XI and can also bowl leg spin.

Cloke, 17, was a regular in the senior Kent side and was recently selected in the England Women’s Senior Academy squad.

High performance director Jason Weaver said: “We’ve selected a smaller pool of players for this year’s Academy group.

“Thanks to the support of Kent Reliance, we can provide a focussed programme that provides high quality coaching and support that incorporates a total life approach.

“We have had a good track record of producing professional cricketers and, by working closely with our partners, our aim is for this to continue.”

Wicketkeeper Jordan Cox, all-rounders Isaac Dilkes, Julian O’Riordan and Joe Gordon and seamer Tom Davis retain their places on the Academy programme with another eight associate scholars increasing the playing pool.

The associate scholars will receive support and development opportunities to help them gain a place on the full Academy in years to come.

Kent coaches and players provide input and support for the scholars for indoor sessions during the off-season before summer fixtures against Kent clubs, county academies and invitation sides.

The Academy programme is proudly sponsored by Kent Reliance 

Academy scholars 2017/18:

Kashif Ali (RHB/LS), Izzy Cloke (Tunbridge Wells, RHB/RMF), Jordan Cox (Sandwich Town, RHB, WK), Tom Davis (Canterbury, RHB/RMF), Isaac Dilkes (Broadstairs, RHB/LS), Joe Gordon (Canterbury, RHB/RM), Ben Mills (Whitstable, LHB/LFM), Julian O’Riordan (Tunbridge Wells, RHB/OS).

Associate scholars 2017/18:

Taylor Chandler (Chestfield), Bradley Goldsack (Canterbury), Harry Houillon (Sevenoaks Vine), Harsh Kumar (Shenfield), James McGruer (Bromley Common), Mark McLean (Hartley Country Club), Hugh Scott (Elham Valley), Sam Smith (Bickley Park).