The Alan Albury Awards

– Awarded by the Kent Recreational Cricket Welfare Trust

Alan Albury was a founding Trustee of the Kent Recreational Cricket Welfare Trust (KRCWT). He was also Chairman of both the Kent Cricket Board and the Association of Kent Cricket Clubs for over 15 years, during which he made an immense contribution to recreational cricket.

A memorial fund was set up on his death and it was decided to institute the Alan Albury Memorial Awards, which continue to be co-ordinated by the KRCWT. Alan was keen that there should be recognition of those who give their time voluntarily to cricket and so these awards are given to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the life of their club over many years.

The Awards came into being in 2004 and from then until today the Trust has made Awards to over 150 recipients.

Nominations for an Alan Albury Award are requested each season. For more information, please email the KRCWT secretary, Pat Lippiat.

↓ Click Here – to download the winners of Alan Albury Awards from 2004 until the present day.

Grassroots Cricket Awards

– Awarded by Kent Cricket and ECB

The Grassroots Cricket Awards are designed to celebrate our grassroots cricket superstars. The awards take place in every county across England and Wales, culminating in a national ceremony.

Each year, Kent Cricket will seek nominations from clubs, leagues and affiliated teams from across the county, against the categories put forward by the ECB. A Kent Cricket panel will then meet to score each nomination in order to identify a ‘county winner’.

Categories can include the following, but are subject to change each year;

  • Connecting Communities
  • Unsung Hero
  • Growing the Game
  • Rising Star (Young Volunteer)
  • Cricket Innovators

The Grassroots Cricket Awards were known as the OSCAs (Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards) up until 2020.

Celebrating the Winners

Traditionally, Kent Cricket in partnership with the KRCWT will then invite and host the winners from both The Alan Albury Awards and the Grassroots Cricket Awards at The Spitfire Ground during a County Championship fixture.