Cricket Leagues in Kent

There are 29 ‘Premier Leagues’ across England and Wales which operate at the top tier of men’s club cricket. These leagues act as a bridge between the grassroots and first class game.

The Kent Cricket League, as of 2023, merged with The Kent Regional Cricket League to create a single structure league consisting of 30 divisions in a tiered structure. The aforementioned ‘Premier’ division now sits at the top of the structure, and this is where many of our First XI squad have and continue to play.

Kent Cricket League Website

The League was formed in November 1989, with competition effective from the 1990 season. In 1990 and 1991, the league consisted of eight founding clubs, whose 1st XIs competed: Bidborough, Hadlow, Cranbrook, Leigh, Crockham Hill, St Lawrence, Four Elms and Sissinghurst.

The league is going from strength to strength, with multiple divisions across West Kent and the East Sussex border.

Kent County Village League Website

The League was formed in the winter of 1972 and commenced with two divisions. It now consists of 72 sides

(66 first elevens and 6 second elevens) which are spread across 6 divisions, with divisions 3 and 4 regionalised.

Matches are played on Sundays throughout the summer with each team playing each other once.

Kent Village Cricket League Website

The British Tamils Cricket League formed in 2005. On their website the BTCL state their aims are to ensure the future growth and continuity of the competition, inline with their responsibility to develop a league where ‘sports and sportsmanship are truly developed and sustained’.

Teams within the BTCL are predominantly from the London Boroughs.

British Tamils Cricket League Website

Cups & Competitions

  • Kent Cricket, Club T20

    After many successful years, the competition formally known as ‘Dyno Plumbing T20’, now called ‘Kent Cricket, Club T20’   gives clubs an opportunity to compete for a place to play at ‘Finals Day’, which takes place at a county ground.

    The competition starts with localised group stages, from which the group winners progress into play-off matches to try and secure their place at Finals Day, which usually takes place in September, but will be shaped each year by first class fixtures.

    Rules and Regulations

    To enter please click here.

  • The Cricketer Village Cup

    Since 1972, The Cricketer administered The Cricketer Village Cup and has been inextricably linked with the English summer. Each year around 300 clubs from villages across the British Isles battle for the chance to play in the final at Lord’s, the home of cricket.

    No other sport offers this opportunity to the grassroots level of their game where even the smallest village team can ‘live the dream’ and tread the same hallowed turf as England skipper Ben Stokes and co.

    For full information on the competition and details on how to enter, please click here.

  • ECB Indoor Cricket (6-a-side)

    League Venue Divisions Contact League Website
    Canterbury Pharon Ames Levett, CT1 3NZ 3 Adam Hodder
    01227 473618
    Dover District Ames Levett, CT1 3NZ 2 Mel Juniper
    Maidstone DCP YMCA Maidstone, ME15 6BD 2 Cyril Davey,
    01622 741417
    Met The County Ground, BR3 1RL 2 Adam Hodder,
    01227 473618
    Shepway Indoor League 3 Hills Sports Park,  CT19 5JU 2 Frank Hobbs  –
    Sevenoaks Knole Academy, TN13 3LE 3 Mark Cheeseman  –
    Thanet East Kent Sports School, CT12 6FA 4 Roger Silk play-cricket