Skip to main content

2016 women’s fixtures announced

Saturday 6th February 2016


Kent Women will begin their bid for a record seventh County Championship title on the road with trips to Somerset and Sussex on the May Day Bank Holiday weekend.

Their first home fixture is against Middlesex at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence with all other home fixtures at The County Ground, Beckenham where they end the season against Berkshire.

Yorkshire won a sixth County Championship title last summer to join Sussex and Kent as six-time winners but despite missing out last season, Kent are confident their conveyor belt of cricketers will continue to produce promising players.

Women's team manager Lin Martin said: “The Kent age groups are full of talent and we’re trying to bring that through alongside our internationals. It’s such an exciting time for women’s cricket with the exposure the game is getting.

“We are bidding for a record seventh County Championship which would be a fantastic achievement.

“The facilities for the players at The County Ground, Beckenham are excellent.

“Many of the players live in the area and we train at the new indoor school there which is one of the best in the country.

“It’s a very good pitch too so we expect some entertaining cricket over the four days there.

“It will be great to play Surrey there as everyone is aware of the rivalry and we managed to win at the Kia Oval last year without our England players so I’m sure they will be keen to make amends.”

There will be a mid-season break for the new six-team Women's T20 Super League for four weeks in July and August

Kent Women's County Championship Fixtures 2016 (50 over matches)

Sunday 1 May: Somerset v Kent (Taunton Vale Sports Club)

Monday 2 May: Sussex v Kent (Eastbourne CC)

Sunday 15 May: Kent v Middlesex (The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence)

Sunday 29 May: Kent v Staffordshire (The County Ground, Beckenham)

Monday 30 May: Kent v Surrey (The County Ground, Beckenham)

Sunday 12 June: Yorkshire v Kent (venue TBC)

Sunday 28 August: Warwickshire v Kent (Edgbaston Foundation Ground)

Sunday 4 September: Kent v Berkshire (The County Ground, Beckenham)

T20 Division One Fixtures 2016

Sunday 26 June (Wokingham, Berks): 1030 Kent v Berkshire, 1630 Kent v Lancashire

Sunday 3 July (venue TBC): 1330 Sussex v Kent

Sunday 17 July.(Ransome and Marles CC, Notts): 1330 Kent v Yorkshire, 1630 Kent v Nottinghamshire

Sunday 24 July (The County Ground, Beckenham): 1030 Kent v Middlesex, 1630 Kent v Warwickshire