Billings returns to Sydney with Thunder

Monday 22nd November 2021

Men’s First Team

Billings returns to Sydney with Thunder

Kent captain Sam Billings is set to feature in Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL) for a fourth tournament as he travels to Sydney to link up once more with the Sydney Thunder ahead of BBL|11.

Billings played two seasons with the Sydney Sixers earlier in his career before making the switch across town to the Thunder last Winter where he made a stunning impact behind the stumps and with the bat.

The wicketkeeper-batter scored 260 runs in 10 innings with a strike rate of 142, including a pair of half centuries, punctuated by a knock of 83 from 48 balls against the Scorchers in Perth last time out in BBL|10.

Since his time in the Harbour City last Winter, Billings skippered Kent to their first trophy in 14 years, lifting the Vitality Blast trophy at Edgbaston on 18 September.

He also featured for England in the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup, making an appearance against New Zealand in the semi-finals.

On re-signing for ‘Thunder Nation’ back in September, Billings said: “I think the most exciting thing about coming back to the Thunder is the group of young players that complement the older, experienced heads.

“In my first experiences with Sydney Thunder last season there were obviously positive signs but we didn’t finish where we wanted to, or could finish. There is no reason we can’t take another step forward and go close to the title.”

The Thunder are coached by former England Men’s Head Coach, Trevor Bayliss, and have also secured the services of Nottinghamshire’s Alex Hales.

Sydney Thunder BBL|11 Group Fixtures (all times GMT):

  • Monday 6 December – Sydney Thunder vs. Brisbane Heat (08:15 start)
  • Friday 10 December – Melbourne Stars vs. Sydney Thunder (08:15 start)
  • Sunday 12 December – Sydney Thunder vs. Melbourne Stars (08:15 start)
  • Sunday 19 December – Brisbane Heat vs. Sydney Thunder (08:40 start)
  • Sunday 26 December – Sydney Thunder vs. Sydney Sixers (07:05 start)
  • Tuesday 28 December – Sydney Thunder vs. Perth Scorchers (08:15 start)
  • Friday 31 December – Adelaide Strikers vs. Sydney Thunder (08:15 start)
  • Sunday 2 January – Sydney Thunder vs. Adelaide Strikers (08:15 start)
  • Wednesday 5 January – Perth Scorchers vs. Sydney Thunder (10:15 start)
  • Saturday 8 January – Melbourne Renegades vs. Sydney Thunder (07:05 start)
  • Monday 10 January – Hobart Hurricanes vs. Sydney Thunder (08:15 start)
  • Thursday 13 January – Sydney Thunder vs. Hobart Hurricanes (05:00 start)
  • Saturday 15 January – Sydney Sixers vs. Sydney Thunder (08:40 start)
  • Wednesday 19 January – Sydney Thunder vs. Melbourne Renegades (05:40 start)

Every match of BBL|11 will be shown on Sky Sports in the UK.

Join Kent Cricket and watch the 2021 Vitality Blast Champions in action across all formats in 2022 – Kent Memberships & Six Pack Ticket Bundles are available now.

Become a Kent Member for 2022 now


Give the gift of cricket to friends or family this year with a Kent Cricket Membership.

Buy Kent Membership as a gift here

For any enquiries, please contact the Membership Services team on or call on 01227 456 886 (Monday – Friday 10:00 – 16:00).