Skip to main content

Congratulations to Canterbury Cricket Club

Monday 14th March 2011

Congratulations to Canterbury Cricket Club Canterbury were crowned Indoor National Club Champions for the first time in their history after a comfortable win over Blaydon at Lord’s.

The Kent side, who reached Finals Day in 2003 and 2004, made it third time lucky by reaching their victory target of 113 for the loss of just one wicket.

Led by prolific openers Paul Steer and Ryan Minter, who both retired having reached 25, Canterbury were celebrating in the penultimate over when captain Simon Smith hit the winning runs.

Veteran all-rounder John Rose played his part in the final victory, retiring on 27 to go with his earlier wicket, while Ben Cooper and Damien Minter were also successful with the ball.

That Blaydon even made 112 was largely down to last man Gary Stewart who made 40 not out after the Durham side lost four early wickets.

But it was not enough as Canterbury coasted home.

“It means everything to a club like ours,” said Smith after he lifted the trophy. “Not just for the players but it’s been great for the club as a whole.

“We got to Lord’s seven years ago and Loughborough six years ago, so to be back here and actually win it is something special.

“As captain, this is a huge moment for me. It’s something that dreams are made of. To come here and win the national championship, to score the winning runs – I will remember this day for the rest of my life.”

Earlier in the afternoon Canterbury saw off the challenge of Somerset club Bridgwater in the first semi-final. Batting first, Canterbury made 120 for two with Steer and Minter both retiring once again.

In reply Bridgwater fell way short, bowled out for just 51, with Minter adding two wickets to his earlier exploits with the bat. In the other semi-final, Blaydon’s 141 for two was too much for Flitwick, who ended up 20 runs adrift.