Crawley to captain England Men in Ireland ODI series

Wednesday 6th September 2023


Crawley to captain England Men in Ireland ODI series

Kent & England opener Zak Crawley has been named as captain of a 13-player squad for England Men’s Metro Bank One-Day Series against Ireland Men this month.

Crawley will lead England for the first time with his Test opening partner, Kent-born Ben Duckett, named as vice-captain for the three-match series, which begins at Headingly on Wednesday, 20 September.

This will be the first time a male Kent cricketer has captained England in any format since James Tredwell skippered England IT20 side against New Zealand back in 2013.

The LV= Insurance County Championship comes to a head!

We welcome Nottinghamshire to The Spitfire Ground in one of three first-class fixtures in September:

Buy tickets now

The squad itself includes three uncapped players, Warwickshire batter Sam Hain, Surrey wicketkeeper-batter Jamie Smith and Derbyshire paceman George Scrimshaw.

The England Men’s selection panel consulted with the first-class counties, and weighed their ambitions in the run-in to the end of the LV= Insurance County Championship season, before finalising the squad.

England Men’s 13-player squad:

  • Zak Crawley (Kent, Captain)
  • Rehan Ahmed (Leicestershire)
  • Harry Brook (Yorkshire)
  • Brydon Carse (Durham)
  • Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire, Vice Captain)
  • Sam Hain (Warwickshire)
  • Will Jacks (Surrey)
  • Craig Overton (Somerset)
  • Matthew Potts (Durham)
  • Phil Salt (Lancashire)
  • George Scrimshaw (Derbyshire)
  • Jamie Smith (Surrey)
  • Luke Wood (Lancashire)

England Men v Ireland – Metro Bank One-Day Series schedule:

  • 1st Metro Bank ODI: Headingley, Leeds – 20 September
  • 2nd Metro Bank ODI: Trent Bridge, Nottingham – 23 September
  • 3rd Metro Bank ODI: Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol – 26 September

International T20 cricket is back at The Spitfire Ground after 12 years next Summer!

International T20 cricket will return to Canterbury on Thursday 11 July 2024 when The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence hosts the 3rd match in England’s IT20 series against New Zealand.

It is only the second time that Canterbury has hosted a Women’s International T20 match in its long history, and will be another boost for the continued growth of women’s cricket in Kent.

Registration for access to our ticket ballot is now open. Please complete the form below:

Sign-up for our ticket ballot here

The ballot will open from from Monday 18 September.

Please note: there is only one entry per e-mail address supplied. Duplicate entries will not be counted.