Darren Stevens named Sky Sports Sixes League Winner at the 2011 NatWest PCA Awards

Thursday 22nd September 2011

Men’s First Team

The Professional Cricketers'Association (PCA), in association with NatWest and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), tonight hosted the NatWest PCA Awards. In front ofplayers, former players, officials and guests, Darren Stevens was named Sky Sports SixesLeague Winner.

Marcus Trescothick was crowned NatWest PCA Player of the Year for 2011, while Alex Hales was named as NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year. Somerset opening batsman Trescothick had another outstanding season, captaining his side to the Clydesdale Bank 40 and Friends Life t20 Finals. In accumulating 2,518 runs in all cricket he finished as the leading aggregate run scorer in the English domestic season, despite missing a number of matches through injury. Trescothick scored four centuries and two double-centuries in the LV= County Championship, and a century in the Clydesdale Bank 40 and Friends Life t20 competitions. After winning this award in 2000 and in 2009, Trescothick becomes only the second player in the PCA's history to win the Reg Hayter Cup three times, joining the great Sir Richard Hadlee.

Nottinghamshire's right-handed opening batsman Hales passed a thousand runs in the LV= County Championship for the first time in 2011 and also demonstrated his all-round game by hitting 544 runs at a strike-rate of 147 in theFriends Life t20. He made 1,833 runs in all cricket, was awarded his county cap during the season and earned an England call-up in the NatWest International T20 fixture versus India.

RBS Senior Marketing Manager, Sponsorship Marketing UK Retail, Dominic Warne said: "On behalf of everyone at NatWest I would like to congratulate all of tonight's winners. We have been supporting cricket for more than 30 years and our sponsorship of the PCA Awards is part of our ongoing commitment to the game. This year has seen us launch the NatWest Cricket Club to raise awareness of the challenges facing cricket at grassroots level and to galvanise support, in order to address these issues locally and reward participation.

"Supporting the PCA Awards enables us to celebrate sporting excellence in what is an exciting and successful time to be involved in English cricket."

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year

Marcus Trescothick(Somerset)

John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year

Alex Hales(Nottinghamshire)

ECB Special Award

Patrick Eagar

PCA Special Merit Award, sponsored by Brit Insurance

Jack Bannister

Sky Sports Sixes League Winner

Darren Stevens(Kent)

NatWest ODI Player of the Year

Stuart Broad

England FTI MVP of the Summer

Alastair Cook

LV= County Championship Player of the Decade

Mark Ramprakash

Friends Life t20 Player of the Year

Andrew McDonald(Leicestershire)

Clydesdale Bank 40 Player of the Year

Chris Nash(Sussex)

FTI Team of the Year:

Alastair Cook(Essex & England)

Marcus Trescothick(Somerset)

Chris Nash(Sussex)

Alex Hales(Nottinghamshire & England)

Darren Stevens(Kent)

Steven Davies(Surrey)

Samit Patel(Nottinghamshire & England)

Chris Woakes(Warwickshire & England)

James Anderson(Lancashire & England)

David Masters(Essex)

Monty Panesar(Sussex)

PCA Umpire of the Year

Michael Gough

Over the years, the staging of the NatWest PCA Awards has raised significant funds for the PCA Benevolent Fund. The Fund is part of the PCA's commitment to helping current and former players and their dependants in times of hardship, upheaval or to readjust to the world beyond the game.

Kent County Cricket Club will issue further news on Darren Stevens' award tomorrow, Friday 23rd September.