Skip to main content

Darren Stevens Wins Sky Sports Sixes League

Friday 23rd September 2011

Men’s First Team

Darren Stevens has won the 2011 Sky Sports Sixes League with 31 sixes from 616 deliveries.

Stevens finished three sixes ahead of Gloucestershire’s Kevin O’Brian who came 2nd in the League table with 28 maximums from 357 deliveries. Leicestershire’s Josh Cobb came 3rd with 27 from 695 deliveries. Somerset’s Marcus Trescothick and Peter Trego, Surrey’s Tom Maynard, Lancashire’s Steven Croft and Glamorgan’s Alviro Petersen all scored 23 sixes each and filled fourth to seventh spots respectively in the table due to the number of balls faced.

Stevens has won £2,000 and was presented with the Sky Sports Sixes League trophy at last night’s PCA Awards dinner.

Commenting on his win, Darren said: “I’m really pleased to have earned top place in the Sky Sports Sixes League. There has been a lot of hard work gone into gaining the confidence in hitting the ball over the ropes. Long may it continue!”

The Sky Sports Sixes League, sponsored by The Independent, ranks the top ten batsmen that have hit the most sixes in county limited overs cricket. Last year Essex’s Ryan ten Doeschate won the Sky Sports Sixes League with 30 sixes from 369 deliveries. A total of 1599 sixes were hit in English domestic one-day cricket this summer with Kevin O’Brien’s 11 in his Twenty20 century against Middlesex at Uxbridge the most in a single innings.

The league has become a popular element of Sky’s cricket coverage, with the league table featured on Sky’s domestic cricket coverage, Cricket AM and on It is also published each week in The Independent.

Sky Sports Sixes League final standings 20 September 2011:

SEASON Team 6s Balls

Darren Stevens Kent 31 616

Kevin O'Brien Gloucestershire 28 357

Josh Cobb Leicestershire 27 695

Marcus Trescothick Somerset 23 611

Peter Trego Somerset 23 668

Tom Maynard Surrey 23 744

Steven Croft Lancashire 23 791

Alviro Petersen Glamorgan 23 916

Jos Buttler Somerset 22 483

Click here to read more about the 2011 NatWest PCA Awards on the Kent Cricket website