ECB to double rewards available to England Women

Monday 3rd October 2011


ECB has announced a doubling of its investment in the rewards available for England’s women’s cricketers ahead of their tour of South Africa later this month.

Following a proposal recently approved by ECB’s Management Board, the players will receive tour fees and incentivised appearance fees for the first time.The move, which will take effect for the team’s forthcoming ODI and T20 series in South Africa, will mean a doubling of the overall remuneration fund available to the players.

It represents a further expansion of ECB’s support for the women’s game following last week’s appointment of five specialist coaches to work across women’s and girl’s cricket. Currently twenty players receive a monthly payment from ECB including seven who are also able to supplement their income by coaching schoolchildren for The Cricket Foundation’s Chance to Shine scheme. These payments will increase from January 1st.

ECB Head of Women’s Cricket Clare Connor said: ‘This is a significant step forward for women’s sport in this country and a great boost for the England team as they prepare to defend the ICC Women's World Cup in 2013 and seek to regain the ICC World T20 title next year.

“Our leading players have traditionally had to sacrifice a career to play international cricket as the sport demands an intensive commitment of up to 100 days a year playing and training.

“Today’s decision will make it far easier for all our players to combine part-time work or study with their England commitments and will play an important role in helping ECB attract and retain more girls and women with cricketing talent.“

The England women's squad for the South Africa tour includes five Kent women:

Charlotte Edwards (captain, Kent)
Jenny Gunn (Yorkshire)
Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
Arran Brindle (Sussex)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Isa Guha (Berkshire)
Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
Heather Knight (Berkshire)
Laura Marsh (Kent)
Susie Rowe (Kent)

Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)

England women v South Africa women schedule

One-day series (all matches to be played at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom)

Oct 21:1st ODI,10am (9am BST)
Oct 23: 2nd ODI,10am
Oct 25: 3rd ODI,10am

Twenty20 series (all matches to be played at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom)

Oct 27:1st T20,10am
Oct 29: 2nd T20,2pm
Oct 3: 3rd T20,10am

Click here to read more about Kent Women's achievements this season

Click here to read more about the England Women's squad selection