England name 13-man squad for 3rd npower Ashes Test

Saturday 25th July 2009

ENGLAND today named a 13-man squad for the 3rd npower Ashes Test against Australia at Edgbaston starting on Thursday.

Warwickshire batsmen Ian Bell comes into the squad for the injured Kevin Pietersen, who has been ruled out of the series due to Achilles surgery last Wednesday.

Durham’s Stephen Harmison (pictured)and Northamptonshire’s Monty Panesar have also been added to the squad that includes those players that featured in England’s 115-run win over Australia at Lord’s.

ECB National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: "The performance of the team at Lord’s was outstanding and a convincing win was well deserved.

"We have obviously had to make a change to the side following Kevin Pietersen’s unavailability and we wish Kevin the best with his rehabilitation and look forward to his return to the England team in due course.

"Kevin’s injury has presented an opportunity for Ian Bell who we know is a top-class batsmen with an excellent international record for England. Ian will be looking to make the most of his return to the side during an Ashes series and while we have a strong idea of where he will bat we won’t be disclosing the final line-up of the side until the toss on Thursday.

"Although we haven’t named any extra batting cover in the squad we have several options should the need arise to call in another batsmen.

"Andrew Flintoff’s performance at Lord’s was truly memorable and we are hopeful he can take his place in the side for the 3rd npower Test as he continues to manage his knee injury. Andrew and the medical staff are quite bullish about his prospects of playing but we’ll continue to monitor his progress in the days leading up to Thursday.

"Steve Harmison and Monty Panesar once again come in to the squad and both players provide us with cover and exciting options within the bowling attack."

England squad for 3rd npower Ashes Test Match
Andrew Strauss (c) (Middlesex)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Paul Collingwood (Durham)
Alastair Cook (Essex)
Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)
Stephen Harmison (Durham)
Graham Onions (Durham)
Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)

Picture: Getty Images