Skip to main content

England name 14-man squad for 2nd Test against Australia

Sunday 12th July 2009

ENGLAND today announced a 14-man squad for the 2nd npower Ashes Test against Australia at Lord“s starting on Thursday.

Durham pace bowler Stephen Harmison (pictured)has been added to the 13-man squad named for the 1st npower Test at Cardiff which ended in a draw yesterday.

ECB National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: “It required a tremendous effort to save the 1st npower Test match and no praise can be high enough for the fighting qualities shown by Paul Collingwood together with our lower order batsmen. Their application at the crease and determination to get the job done was first-rate.

“We are well aware, however, that we did not perform well in Cardiff over the five days and will need to improve in all areas of our game if we are to overcome what is a strong Australian side.

“We have added Stephen Harmison to our squad for the next Test match as Andrew Flintoff injured his right knee at Cardiff and will undergo a precautionary scan later today.

“Andrew is experiencing soreness and swelling in the knee which he twisted while in the field and he will be reassessed by the medical staff over the next forty eight hours leading up to the Test Match on Thursday.

“In the event of Andrew being unfit, we see Stephen as a like for like replacement in terms of the type of bowler he is and his ability to unsettle the opposition batsmen with pace and bounce.

“But we will need to consider all our options carefully when we come to determine the make-up of our bowling attack at Lord“s and the final decision will depend on our assessment of the pitch and the likely overhead conditions.“

The full squad is:
Andrew Strauss (captain) – Middlesex
James Anderson – Lancashire
Ian Bell – Warwickshire
Ravi Bopara – Essex
Stuart Broad – Nottinghamshire
Paul Collingwood – Durham
Alastair Cook – Essex
Andrew Flintoff – Lancashire
Stephen Harmison – Durham
Graham Onions – Durham
Monty Panesar – Northamptonshire
Kevin Pietersen – Hampshire
Matt Prior – Sussex
Graeme Swann – Nottinghamshire

Picture: Getty Images