Skip to main content

Five Kent women included in England women’s squad for South Africa tour

Wednesday 7th September 2011


England women’s selectors have named a 14-player squad for the England women’s tour of South Africa in October which includes five Kent women.

Charlotte Edwards, Lydia Greenway, Tammy Beaumont, Laura Marsh and Susie Rowe will all be in the squad based in Potchefstroom from 17th to the 31st October, and will play a three match One Day International series and a three match Twenty20 series against South Africa women at Senwes Park.

England and South Africa women last met in the group stages of the 2010 ICC World Twenty20 where England beat Cri-Zelda Brits’ South African team by 56 runs. Charlotte Edwards will lead the England squad and look to continue the teams winning performances from this summer’s NatWest Women’s Quadrangular Series.

England women’s Head Coach Mark Lane said: “I was very pleased with our performances over the summer; we saw contributions throughout the squad.

“We will be looking to take the positive performances from this summer with us to South Africa and on to New Zealand in February. Both winter tours will serve as important preparation for us as we look ahead to the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in 2012 and then onto the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2013.

“The team has real strength in depth at the moment so we will be looking for every player to perform and continue to improve both individually and as a team.”

England women squad for South Africa 2011

Charlotte Edwards (Kent) captain

Jenny Gunn (Yorkshire)

Tammy Beaumont (Kent)

Arran Brindle (Sussex)

Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)

Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)

Lydia Greenway (Kent)

Isa Guha (Berkshire)

Danni Hazell (Yorkshire)

Heather Knight (Berkshire)

Laura Marsh (Kent)

Susie Rowe (Kent)

Sarah Taylor (Sussex)

Danni Wyatt (Staffordshire)

England women v South Africa women match schedule

One Day International Series, all matches to be played at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom

Friday 21 October 1st ODI 10.00am (9.00am BST)

Sunday 23 October 2nd ODI 10.00am (9.00am BST)

Tuesday 25 October 3rd ODI 10.00am (9.00am BST)

Twenty20 Series, all matches to be played at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom

Thursday 27 October 1st T2010.00am (9.00am BST)

Saturday 29 October 2nd T20 2.00pm (1.00pm BST)

Sunday 30 October 3rd T20 10.00am (9.00am BST)