Skip to main content

Former Kent all-rounder helps Pakistan win the World Twenty20 Cup

Saturday 20th June 2009


Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by eight wickets

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat

Sri Lanka Innings
138 for 6, 20 overs

Pakistan Innings
139 for 2, 18.4 overs

PAKISTAN are the new holders of the ICC World Twenty20 after a convincing eight-wicket win over Sri Lanka in the final at Lord“s.

A finely judged knock of 54, from former Kent overseas star Shahid Afridi (pictured), saw them home with eight balls to spare. Earlier, three wickets from all-rounder Abdul Razzaq had limited Sri Lanka to a below-par 138 from their 20 overs.

After winning the toss, and electing to bat, captain Kumar Sangakkara must have rued his decision as his side was reduced to 32 for four but he held his nerve and scored a fluent 64. All-rounder Angelo Mathews kept him good company, with a knock of 35, as they shared an unbroken stand of 68 for the seventh wicket.

However, the score never looked enough and Pakistan batted sensibly during the power play to put themselves in a strong position of 63 for one, at the start of the 10th over, and they then made it home quite comfortably. Afridi, who enjoyed a short spell with Kent in 2004, was named man-of-the-match for an all-round display, which also saw him return figures of one for 20 from his four overs with the ball.

It was bitter disappointment for Sri Lanka, who included three men with Kent connections in their tour party. Former Academy Director Paul Farbrace is the Assistant Coach and Muttiah Muralitharan and Lasith Malinga both enjoyed spells as an overseas player with Kent.

Pakistan: Kamran Akmal (W), Hasan, Shoaib Malik, Khan (C), Shahid Afridi, Misbah, Fawad Alam, Razzaq, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Aamer

Sri Lanka: Jayasuriya, Dilshan, Sangakkara (C/W), M Jayawardene, Silva, Mubarak, Mathews, Udana, Malinga, Muralitharan, Mendis

Umpires: D J Harper, S J A Taufel, B C Broad, S J Davis

Picture courtesy of Getty Images