Hampshire v Kent Spitfires (Sat, 11am)

Hampshire v Kent Spitfires (Sat, 11am)

Kent Spitfires have named a 15-man squad for the Royal London One-Day Cup, the club’s first Lord’s final in a decade.

Sam Billings is one of four Kent Cricket Academy graduates in the final squad and says the Spitfires are not here for a day out.

Book Early Bird T20 tickets now for the best prices >

The Kent Cricket Academy graduate said: “It’s a very exciting occasion for the players, staff and supporters and if we play our best cricket, I’m confident we will win.

“We respect every side we play against but the manner of our victories and the team spirit in the group and knockout stages is very encouraging. Hampshire have good players in form but we’ve got seriously good players too.

“I’ve been at the club since I was seven and it means a huge amount to represent my home county. We’re looking forward to the final and we’re looking to channel the emotion of the big occasion into a good performance.

“Competing for silverware is why we play the game and I’ve always been optimistic we can be successful. Matt Walker has made a great impact on this group and having Paul Downton as director of cricket and Allan Donald, one of the best fast bowlers of all-time, at the club can only help us.”

Book Early Bird T20 tickets now for the best prices >

Kent Spitfires squad: 7 Sam Billings (c), 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 4 Heino Kuhn, 6 Joe Denly, 58 Sean Dickson, 10 Alex Blake, 12 Adam Rouse, 3 Darren Stevens, 42 Will Gidman, 9 Grant Stewart, 25 Calum Haggett, 1 Harry Podmore, 24 Matt Henry, 11 Imran Qayyum, 8 Mitch Claydon.

Hampshire squad: Jimmy Adams (4), Rilee Rossouw (30), James Vince (14, c), Sam Northeast (17), Tom Alsop (9), Joe Weatherley (5). Liam Dawson (8), Lewis McManus (18, wk), Gareth Berg (13), Chris Wood (25), Dale Steyn (2). Reece Topley (6), Mason Crane (32).

Anyone travelling to Lord’s by train on Saturday, please be aware that the last Southeastern High Speed services from St Pancras back towards all stations in Kent are:

2125 to Gravesend, Medway, Faversham and Margate
2112 to Canterbury West and Ramsgate
2137 to Ebbsfleet, Ashford , Dover and Sandwich