Skip to main content

Holland stun England in World T20 opener

Thursday 4th June 2009

ICC World Twenty20 2009: England v Netherlands
05 June at Lord’s

Holland beat England by 4 wickets
Netherlands won the toss and decided to field

England Innings
162 for 5 (20.0 overs)
Wright 71, Bopara 46, Collingwood 11, Key 10 not out
ten Doeschate 2 for 35, Borren 1 for 31, Schiferli 1 for 33

Netherlands Innings
163 for 6 (20.0 overs)
de Grooth 49, Borren 30, ten Doeschate 22 not out
Anderson 3 for 23, Collingwood 1 for 17, Broad 1 for 32

ENGLAND“S cricketers, including Kent“s Rob Key (pictured), have it all to do – if they are to qualify for the Super Eights stage of the ICC World Twenty20 tournament. The host nation suffered arguably their biggest embarrassment in limited-overs history, losing by four-wickets to rank outsiders Holland at Lord’s on Friday night.

There had been high hopes England might mount a serious challenge for the World T20 event but their score of 162 for five never really looked enough. Openers Luke Wright (71) and Ravi Bopara (46) got England off to a good start. They put on 102 for the opening wicket, in a positive stand, but the innings lacked the needed impetus as the home side only mustered 73 runs from their final ten overs. Batting down the order, Kent skipper Rob Key contributed an unbeaten ten from eight deliveries.

In reply, opener Darron Reekers set the tone with two big sixes, inside the first three overs. Tom de Grooth (49) and Peter Borren (30) then put the visitors in a great position to win and they held the nerve with light drizzle falling in London. Essex all-rounder, Ryan ten Doeschate, held his nerve and helped to see the Dutch over the line with an unbeaten knock of 22.

It means England must now beat Pakistan on Sunday to stand any chance of qualifying for the Super Eights stage.

England: L Wright, Bopara, Key, O Shah, Collingwood (C), E Morgan, J Foster (W), Rashid, Broad, Sidebottom, Anderson

Netherlands: Smits (C/W), Reekers, Kervezee, ten Doeschate, Zuiderent, van Bunge, de Grooth, Borren, Schiferli, Nannes, Seelaar

Umpires: S J Davis, E A R de Silva, A G Hurst, A L Hill

Picture courtesy of Getty Images