Kent Cricket 2022 Annual General Meeting

Wednesday 27th April 2022

Kent Cricket 2022 Annual General Meeting

After two years, the Club welcomed its Members back ‘in person’ to the FGS Plant Harris Suite at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence for Kent Cricket’s 2022 Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Representing Kent Cricket was a panel consisting of the Club’s Chair Simon Philip, 2022 President Yvonne Neame, CEO Simon Storey, Honorary Treasurer Derek Taylor, Director of Cricket Paul Downton and Men’s Head Coach Matt Walker.

The Club firstly acknowledged the return of Members to the AGM, and then remembered those that we have lost over the past year, including HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, a Vice President of the Club, and distinguished former Kent players, Alan Igglesden and Cecilia Robinson.

Members were then informed of the Club’s performance over the past financial year.

CEO Simon Storey firstly congratulated both the Club’s Men’s and Women’s teams for their three trophy successes in 2021, also Tunbridge Wells Cricket Club for their National Club T20 Final win, and also our Over 60s Championship team.

Alongside raising standards on the field, Members were informed that in the face of continued uncertainty and risk, the Club reported a robust set of financial results and remains focused on protecting its short and long-term financial stability.

The Club continues to improve its Members’ and spectators’ experience with significant investment in  the restoration of the Frank Woolley Stand, an improved Membership & Ticketing System and installation of cashless payment systems.

All proposed changes to the Constitution and Rules of the Club were passed as well as the Terms of Reference of the Nominations Committee.  The new Board will take up its role formally once the Rules have been registered by the Financial Conduct Authority.

The results of all Resolutions, supplied by the Club’s Preferred Legal Services Partner, Cripps Pemberton Greenish, are as follows:

  • Resolution 1: For 253 – Against 4
  • Resolution 2: For 252 – Against 5
  • Resolution 3: For 251 – Against 5
  • Resolution 4: For 248 – Against 8

The Chair thanked Members for their overwhelming support for the Club’s governance changes, and introduced the Board members.

Paul Downton and Matt Walker then answered cricketing questions from Members, with the Meeting finishing at 20:30.

See the 2021 English T20 Champions in action this Summer: tickets to all home Vitality Blast matches are on sale now

Buy Vitality Blast tickets