Kent Cricket Academy Awards 2011

Monday 19th September 2011

Colin Page Scholarship

The Colin Page Scholarship is presented in memory of former Kent player and coach, Colin Page. Colin coached many cricketers over the years, but his love for developing young home grown talent saw him spend many hours during the winter months at the Indoor Cricket Schools at both Canterbury and Sevenoaks.

This year’s winner isEwart Thompson from Catford Wanderers Cricket Club, who was presented with a cheque for £250 by Kent Cricket President, John Shepherd. He receives this year’s scholarship having been identified by the Kent Young Cricketers U17 coaches as an individual who has shown a great attitude and commitment towards his cricket training during the winter.

An honours board of all previous recipients can be found in the Kent Cricket Academy.

Best Academy Scholar

Myrna Gray presented the annual Academy scholarship of £500 and trophy in memory of her late husband John Aitken Gray.

This year’s recipient is Benedict Kemp, who has been on the Academy since 2009. He has been a pupil at St Edmunds School, Canterbury during his time with us and plays his club cricket for St Lawrence & Highland Court Cricket Club.Ben is a right arm seam bowler who has represented the Kent County Cricket Club 2nd XI this summer in all formats of the game, with the highlight of his season being his 3-25 against Surrey at Cheam in the 2nd XI One Day Trophy.

High Performance Director, Simon Willis commented on the award; “Ben’s all round game has improved massively in the last twelve months, and his work ethic and commitment to training throughout the winterhave enabledhim to perform with confidence this season. He fully deserves this award.”

Previous recipients include Daniel Bell Drummond, Adam Ball, Chris Piesley, Sam Billings and Alex Blake.