Skip to main content

Kent Cricket End of Season Awards Night

Monday 26th September 2011

Men’s First Team

Darren Stevens, James Tredwell, Martin van Jaarsveld and Azhar Mahmood were winners at Kent Cricket’s end of season Club Awards Night on Friday.

The Awards Night, held in the Chiesman Pavilion at the St Lawrence Ground was an opportunity for supporters to mingle with players and Kent Cricket representatives, with entertainment provided throughout the evening by local musician, Nick Bosworth. The evening included a sit down meal, speeches and prize giving, with an opportunity for a humorous look back at the season in the form of the Club’s Facebook Caption Competition.

There was time for reflection, with speechesby vice-captain, Geraint Jones (following Rob Key’s early departure due to a domestic situation), Shepherd Neame CEO Jonathan Neame, George Kennedyand John Shepherd.

It has been a challenging year for Kent Cricket, but enjoying the evening in the newly developed Chiesman Pavilion illustrated just how far the Club has progressed with the ground redevelopment this year and was noted within Geraint Jones’ speech. The evening focused on the achievements of players, with an emphasis on hopes and expectations for next season. Geraint Jones told the assembled congregation that the team are full of optimism, and will be training hard throughout the winter to ensure they are able to perform at their best in 2012.

This year’s winners were awarded trophies by Club President John Shepherd, who spoke movingly during the evening of what a personal honour it has been for him to serve as Kent County Cricket Club President this year. Geraint Jones collected awards on behalf of Azhar Mahmood and Martin van Jaarsveld who in currently in South Africa.

Player of the Year (voted by Kent Cricket supporters)

1st: Azhar Mahmood

2nd: Darren Stevens

Click here to read more about Azhar Mahmood's award

Batsman of the Year:

1st: Darren Stevens, 1,580 runs

2nd: Joe Denly, 1,567 runs

Bowler of the Year:

1st: James Tredwell, 63 wickets

2nd: Darren Stevens, 57 wickets

Fielder of the Year:

1st: Martin Van Jaarsveld, 32 catches

2nd: James Tredwell, 24 catches

The awardsare based on first-class matches, CB40, T20 and the Kent Spitfires v India match. The Player of the Year Award is based on supporter votes.