Kent League Round-Up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Kent League Round-Up

Beckenham Cricket Club are the new Kent League Premier Division champions after their two wicket victory over Sandwich in the final match of the season, with Kent Second XI all-rounder Will MacVicar leading the way with bat and ball.

He took 2-42 as Sandwich were bowled out for 155 in 40.4 overs and then scored 54 in Beckenham’s victory target, reaching 159 for 8 in 33.4 overs.

Zak Fagg hit 66 in the Sandwich innings, Mahi Mahfuzel taking 3-45 and Kent’s Alex Blake 2-27, including the wicket of county team mate Jordan Cox.

Kent All-rounder Grant Stewart scored 26 and took 1-30 when Beckenham batted, whilst Kent Second XI leg spinner Jan Gray chipped in with 2-30.

Bexley finished second after a 92-run victory over Bickley Park, boosted by a brilliant 130 off 149 deliveries with 10 fours by Kent wicket keeper Ollie Robinson, with the home side finishing on 271-2, George Haley contributing 60.

Bickley Park slumped to 21-6 before 83 from Daniel Magin and 44 by Mick King took them to 179 all out in 39.1 overs. Jason Benn took 4 for 13 for the home side and former Kent spinner Adam Riley 2-24.

Already relegated HSBC ended the season with a win beating Sevenoaks Vine by six wickets. Vine were all out for 293, Evert Bekker 84, Chris Vernon 50, Adam Rouse 36, Richard Golbourne 3-60.

HSBC belatedly enjoyed their best batting performance of the season reaching victory 294-4 with three balls to spare. Golbourne hit 75, Sadiq Hassan 72 and Alan Slater 71*.

Canterbury, after one season in the Premier League, fell through the other relegation trapdoor after a 112-run defeat to Tunbridge Wells. The home side were 208 all out, Julian O’Riordan 59, Justin MacVicar 3 for 23.

Canterbury were hustled out for just 96 with Kent Academy scholar Isaac Dilkes top scoring with 23, followed by 22 extras. Isaac Bepey 4 for 22 and Kent’s young all-rounder Marcus O’Riordan 3-6 in five overs.

Last seasons champions Blackheath escaped relegation by six points despite a two wicket defeat against Lordswood.

Kent’s Daniel Bell-Drummond scored just 2 for the home side in their total of 240 achieved thanks to a fine 109 from Tanweer Sikandar,  Mizza Baig taking 4 for 40.

Sikandar then took 4-48 and Bell-Drummond 2-39 but they could not stop Lordswood reaching their winning target 241 for 8, Michael French and Jack Laraman both scoring 55 apiece.

Bromley and Holmesdale were promoted from Division One to next seasons Premier, whilst former Kent all-rounder Fabien Cowdrey scored over a thousand runs in the season for Minster in their promotion from Division Two.

Peter Burrowes