Kent League Round-Up: Hayes crowned Premier Division champions

Tuesday 30th August 2022

Kent League Round-Up: Hayes crowned Premier Division champions

Hayes Cricket Club are the 2022 Premier Division champions, following their promotion last season, after they reached an unassailable points total, with one match remaining, beating already relegated Beckenham, by 66 runs, after their nearest challengers, Minster (Sheppey), went down by just nine runs to Bexley.

Success for Hayes was an excellent team effort throughout the season, with Kent’s Alex Blake, and former Kent Second Eleven all-rounder Will MacVicar leading from the front. MacVicar scored an excellent century, 108 with eight boundaries and two sixes, in the visitors 271 for 8, Gareth Severin 47, Alex Senn 3 for 67, Harri Aravinthan 3 for 42. Then Blake took 4 for 30 and MacVicar 3 for 34, as the bottom club were bowled out for 205 in 49.3 overs, Aravinthan 70. Hayes winning the title in style.

Minster’s challenge ended at Manor Way, as they fell just short 247 for 9, after Bexley had posted 256 for 6 with Aiden Griggs 108 not out for the home side, with nine fours and two sixes, reaching his century with a six hit out of the ground. Joe Parry 3 for 54. Minster’s hopes of victory faded when opener, James Thompson was out for 95, having hit seven sixes, and five boundaries, Ian Sell 48 not out.

Sandwich saved themselves from any fear of relegation with an important and timely 86 run victory at home to Lordswood. Jake Smith made 89, Kai Smith 43, and Zak Fagg 43 in their 241, Moeez Raza 3 for 44, former Kent Academy scholar, Hugh Scott 3 for 48, but the visitors could only make 155 in reply, Michael French 40, former Kent Second Eleven player Jan Gray 3 for 15.

Bickley Park now look likely to be the other side to go down after they lost by three wickets to Blackheath, at the Rectory Field. They scored 240 for 9 from their 50 overs, Safwaan Imitiaz and Daniel Magin both hitting 6o runs apiece, and Jahid Ahmed with a brilliant bowling spell of 5 for 28. The home side had three deliveries to spare as they reached their winning target 241 for 7, Brendan Louw 80, Elliot Hooper 3 for 43.

In a very low scoring match Sevenoaks Vine beat Tunbridge Wells by nine wickets, after skittling out their opponents for just 86, Andrew Reid-Dick 4 for 31, Matt Dalton 3 for 15. Luke Schlemmer scored 46, as Vine coasted to an easy victory.

St Lawrence and Highland Court, and Holmesdale, look on their way to promotion from Division One, with Linden Park still in with an outside chance, 12 points separating all three clubs. St Lawrence surprisingly floundered at Hesketh Park, losing by four wickets to Dartford. They were bowled out for 94, in 31.2 overs, Gurveer Singh Saina 3 for 19, and he then hit 31 as Dartford themselves struggled to victory 97 for 6, Joe Payne 3 for 30.

Holmesdale gained an emphatic 109 run win over Canterbury, at Polo Farm, with a big total 338 for 6, thanks to a brilliant 143 from Carlos Maynard, with six sixes and 14 boundaries, Anthony Bissett 64, former Kent Second Eleven player Jarred Lysaught 3 for 71. In reply the home side were bowled out for 229, Fred Sharp 64, Ben Line 46, Ben Fawcitt 3 for 34.

There was heartbreak for Old Wilsonians, who now look likely candidates to join relegated Bromley Common, after a one run defeat at home to Linden Park. The visitors made 219, Tom Corner 69, Graeme Francis 65, Matt Golding 4 for 31, Ishmail September 3 for 36. Golding then scored 56 as Wilsonians finished their 50 overs on 218 for 9, Sadiq Hassan 3 for 25.

Bromley Common lost by 83 runs, at home to Folkestone, all out 153 replying to the visitors 236. In the Folkestone innings, Shab Sheik scored 52 and Jackson Isakka 42. Vidur Goel 3 for 47, James Cramp 3 for 47.

Bromley won away at The Mote by three wickets, reaching their victory target, 239 for 7 in 45.1 overs after the Maidstone based side  had posted 235 for 5, Matt White 113, Vish Parakirama 73, Lewis Hickford 62 and Fred Wilson 41 in the visitors win.

By Peter Burrowes

The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence will once again host a full England Women’s One-Day International (WODI) match in 2022, with a Royal London WODI against India under the lights in Canterbury on Wednesday, 21 September.

Buy tickets now