Kent League Round-Up: Three horse race at top of Premier Division

Monday 17th July 2023

Kent League Round-Up: Three horse race at top of Premier Division

Bexley, Lordswood and Tunbridge Wells Cricket Clubs are battling it out to become Kent Cricket League Premier Division champions, with a nine point gap separating the top two sides, after the latest round of matches.

Bexley are on 161 points, Lordswood 152, and Tunbridge Wells, third with 144 points.

West end stars return to The Spitfire Ground this week!

Outdoor concerts return to The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence for a bumper weekend of entertainment on 21 and 22 July 2023, with two stunning tribute acts, featuring stars of London’s West End.

View Ticket Information

Bexley had a close encounter with Sevenoaks Vine, at Manor Way, winning by just one wicket, a result which sent Vine to the bottom of the table, and in a relegation battle. Lordswood kept up the pressure, with a convincing win, away at Hayes, whilst Wells lost ground on the leaders, as they were beaten at home, by Holmesdale.

Former Kent player, and Bexley captain, Adam Riley, scored 34, as his side edged home in a low scoring match, reaching their winning target of 165 for 9, with five deliveries to spare, after the visitors were dismissed for 164 in 48.3 overs. In the Bexley innings, Harry Robinson took 3 for 27 and Sohil Shah 3 for 18. Evert Bekker top scored for Sevenoaks, with 84, and Kent opener Ben Compton made 24, Harry Dowling 4 for 20.

Lordswood won by 94 runs, after posting 270 for 8, and then bowling Hayes out, for 176, Thando Ntini 79, Ed Taylor 44, Andrew Eddicott 4 for 47. Rory Lowe made 82 for the home side, Callum MacLeod 3 for 25.

Holmesdale were 59 run winners, at the Nevill Ground, against Tunbridge Wells. Kent Academy student, Will Harby scored 69, of their 277 for 9, Leo Carter 71, Dom May 44, Alex Williams 3 for 55. In reply, Wells all out for 218, Kent Second Eleven player, Sam Smith 70, Sam Huggett 64, Chris Williams 46, Ben Fawcitt 4 for 37, Callum Gallagher 3 for 42.

Two Kent players, Jordan Cox, and Arafat Bhuiyan, were in their losing club sides, Sandwich going down at home, to Minster by nine wickets, and Blackheath losing, at the Rectory Field, to St Lawrence and Highland Court, by 115 runs.

Cox scored 40 for Sandwich, as they were all out for 141, Ed Moore 4 for 13, Dan Masters 3 for 54. Minster knocked the winning runs off 144 for 1, in 19.4 overs, Moore 83, James Thompson 49.

Bhuiyan took 4 for 40, Will Hilton 61, as St Lawrence could only muster 199 runs, but the home side were shot out for a paltry 84, George Wells 30, former Kent all-rounder, Darren Stevens 4 for 15, Jamie Hemphrey 3 for 18.

Bickley Park lead the Championship Division, by just one point, from Canterbury, in the battle for promotion, 162 points to 161, with Beckenham trailing, 20 points behind, on 141 in third place.

Bickley, got the easiest of victories, a nine wicket win, at Linden Park, after the home side were skittled out for just 68 runs, Michael Ridley 5 for 12, Elliott Hooper 3 for 4. Hooper was then 27 not out, in the 69 for 1 win, in 19.3 overs.

Canterbury got a big win, by 147 runs, against bottom side OD CUACO, at Polo Farm, after posting 337 for 7, with two century makers, Tom Davis 108 not out, with 13 fours, and Jarred Lysaught 100, with four sixes, and 10 boundaries. In reply CUACO 190 all out, Joe East 50, Lewis White 5 for 25.

Beckenham, beat Folkestone at home by 20 runs, Alex Senn scoring 80 in their 206 all out, Chris Jay 4 for 44.. Folkestone could only reach 186, Emile Harabar 55, Saad Khan 3 for 36, Mudit Dayal 3 for 48.

There was a six wicket victory for Bromley, away to Dartford, who were all out for 145, Scott McKechnie 63, Krishen Daniel 3 for 23, James Butterfill 3 for 21. Stan Greenleaf scored 46 for the visitors in their winning 149 for 4, Ritchie Hartley 4 for 18.

A four wicket win for Whitstable, at home to The Mote, who were all out for 216, Dylan De Villiers 51, Joshua Lock 3 for 35. The home side a winning 217 for 6, Byron Gould 55, Harry Fulton 47, Tom Phillis 46 not out, Matt Luksich 4 for 26.

By Peter Burrowes

The One-Day Cup returns in the school Summer Holidays!

The Kent Spitfires will defend their title at home matches both in Canterbury & Beckenham:

Buy tickets now