Kent name squad for trip to Somerset

Kent name squad for trip to Somerset

Kent Cricket has named a 13-man squad for the trip to Taunton to take on Somerset in Kent’s first game in Division One of the Specsavers County Championship in nine years.

Matt Renshaw is set to make his Kent debut against the county he starred for in last season’s County Championship, where he averaged 51.30 in ten matches for Somerset, scoring two centuries in his first two matches against Worcestershire and Yorkshire respectively.

Interim Captain Heino Kuhn returns to the side after his Multiply Titans side won South Africa’s domestic One Day Cup competition at the weekend.

Sean Dickson comes fresh off scoring 108* against Loughborough MCCU this week. After retiring hurt on three in our second innings against the university side, the club is happy to report that the right-hander is fully fit for the trip to Taunton.

Kent squad in full:

Heino Kuhn (Captain)
Daniel Bell-Drummond (Vice captain)
Alex Blake
Mitchell Claydon
Zak Crawley
Sean Dickson
Fred Klaassen
Matt Milnes
Harry Podmore
Matt Renshaw
Adam Riley
Ollie Robinson
Darren Stevens

Somerset squad in full:

Tom Abell (Captain)
Azhar Ali
Jack Brooks
Eddie Byrom
Josh Davey
Steve Davies
Lewis Gregory
Tim Groenewald
James Hildreth
Jack Leach
Craig Overton
Marcus Trescothick
Paul van Meekeren

Kent Spitfires take on Hampshire on Wednesday 17th April in the first competitive home fixture in 2019 at The Spitfire Ground, St. Lawrence in the Royal London One Day Cup.

Book your tickets now >>>