Kent pair make provisional England squad

Sunday 5th April 2009

KENT opening pair, Rob Key (pictured) and Joe Denly, have been named in the England provisional 30-man squad for the forthcoming ICC Twenty20 World Cup with Key emerging as a front runner for the captaincy.

The squad, which will be halved to 15 players on 1 May, does not include the current England Test and ODI captain, Andrew Strauss.

The 30-man squad contains five players yet to be capped at international level – Denly, Eoin Morgan, Graham Napier, Adil Rashid and Chris Woakes.

The full squad is Kabir Ali, James Anderson, Gareth Batty, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Steve Davies, Joe Denly, James Foster (pictured), Andrew Flintoff, Steve Harmison, Rob Key, Sajid Mahmood, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Eoin Morgan, Graham Napier, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Liam Plunkett, Matt Prior, Adil Rashid, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett, Shaun Udal, Chris Woakes and Luke Wright.

Picture by Anthony Roberts of ARPICSshows Rob Key and James Foster