Kent players in England Women Ashes squad

Kent players in England Women Ashes squad

Three members of Kent Women’s title-winning squad have been named as part of a squad of fourteen players for England’s first Royal London Women’s ODI against Australia next week as part of the Women’s Ashes series.

Kent skipper Tammy Beaumont, batter Fran Wilson and all-rounder Laura Marsh are all included, after all three were also involved in England’s last ODI series against the West Indies.

On Saturday, England Women played a one-day warm up fixture versus Australia A in Loughborough.

Laura Marsh took 4/48, Tammy Beaumont scored a well-made 62 and Fran Wilson scored 37 from 35 balls as England Women came out victorious by 81 runs.

‘Horses’ stars were also a part of the England Academy Women’s side that provided warm-up competition for the full touring Australian team this past week.

Fran Wilson scored 91 whilst Alice Davidson-Richards took the wickets of Australia stars Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry for 50 runs as England Academy missed out on the win by 68 runs on Friday.

England and Australia’s Women’s Ashes series begins on Tuesday with the first of two Royal London ODIs at The Fischer County Ground in Leicester before the Ashes series arrives in Canterbury on Sunday 7th July at The Spitfire Ground, St. Lawrence.

Tickets are still available in advance with £5 off gate prices >>>

England captain Heather Knight said: “We’re massively excited now and we just want to get started. You play cricket for series like this, they’re special, so we’re all just raring to go.

“It wasn’t an easy squad to pick. We’ve won 14 games in a row and during that time time different people have performed and stuck their hand up. That bodes well for the Ashes and hopefully we can maintain that form throughout this series.

“We’re really happy with this group. There’s a good feeling amongst us and we want to go out there and regain the Ashes. That’s our primary focus for the next month.”

England Women first ODI squad

Heather Knight (Berkshire, captain)

Tammy Beaumont (Kent)

Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)

Kate Cross (Lancashire)

Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire)

Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)

Amy Jones (Warwickshire)

Laura Marsh (Kent)

Nat Sciver (Surrey)

Anya Shrubsole (Berkshire)

Sarah Taylor (Sussex, wicketkeeper)

Fran Wilson (Kent)

Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire)

Danni Wyatt (Sussex)

2019 Women’s Ashes schedule in full

Royal London Women’s ODI Series

Tuesday July 2: England Women v Australia Women, Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, 2pm (2 points)

Thursday July 4: England Women v Australia Women, Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, 2pm (2 points)

Sunday July 7: England Women v Australia Women, The Spitfire Ground, Canterbury, 11am (2 points)

Kia Women’s Test Match

Thursday July 18-Sunday July 21: England Women v Australia Women, Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, 11am (4 points)

Vitality Women’s IT20 Series

Friday July 26: England Women v Australia Women, The CloudFM County Ground, Chemlsford, 7.15pm (2 points)

Sunday July 28: England Women v Australia Women, The 1st Central County Ground, Hove, 2pm (2 points)

Wednesday July 31: England Women v Australia Women, Bristol County Ground, Bristol, 6.15pm (2 points)

The Spitfire Ground, St. Lawrence will be hosting a One Day International between Cricket World Cup Champions England and World T20 Champions Australia on Sunday 7th July, as part of the 2019 Women’s Ashes series (2-31 July).

Tickets are available here >>>

Canterbury Christ Church University are proud sponsors of the Kent Women team >>>