Kent players selected for Kia Super League

Tuesday 18th June 2019


Kent players selected for Kia Super League

Six members of Kent’s Royal London Women’s County Championship winning squad have been picked up by four franchises for this year’s edition of the Kia Super League.

The T20 franchise league was established in 2016 and six teams play ten fixtures in a round-robin format, before a Final’s Day at a neutral venue where the second and third placed teams play for the right to face the league leaders in the Final.

This year’s edition of the competition will begin on Tuesday 6th August with Finals Day taking place on Sunday 1st September at The 1st Central County Ground in Hove.

Last season’s champions, Surrey Stars, have retained Kent’s Laura Marsh and Grace Gibbs for the tournament.

Marsh took eight wickets in 11 matches last season whilst Gibbs was ruled out with a knee injury after six games.

Kent club captain Tammy Beaumont has once again been selected by the Southern Vipers after scoring 198 runs at an average of 33.00 in seven matches for the Southampton-based side.

The Horses’ T20 captain Tash Farrant also remains at the Ageas Bowl after 10 wickets in six matches at 17.10 put her 11th in the tournament’s wicket-taking charts last year.

Alice Davidson-Richards will feature again for the Yorkshire Diamonds in 2019 after 148 runs and 10 wickets in last season’s Kia Super League.

Kent’s 2019 signing Fran Wilson stays at Western Storm after amassing 132 runs at 33.00 in eight innings.

Kent Women are currently in action in the Vitality Women’s County T20 tournament with their only home fixtures versus Middlesex Women and Birmingham Bears Women at The County Ground, Beckenham THIS Sunday, 23rd June.

Tickets are available in advance for £5 and will also be £5 on the gate – entry is free for ALL Kent members and package holders and this fixture does not count towards one day’s worth of cricket in the Six Pack package.

The Spitfire Ground, St. Lawrence will be hosting a One Day International between Cricket World Cup Champions England and World T20 Champions Australia on Sunday 7th July, as part of the 2019 Women’s Ashes series (2-31 July).

Tickets are available here >>>

Canterbury Christ Church University are proud sponsors of the Kent Women team >>>