Kent quartet named in England Women’s back-to-training group

Wednesday 17th June 2020


Kent quartet named in England Women’s back-to-training group

Kent Women’s quartet of Tammy Beaumont, Alice Davidson-Richards, Kirstie Gordon and Fran Wilson have been named amongst 24 women’s players, who have been asked to return back to training by England.

They will return back to individual training on June 22nd, as plans continue for a proposed tri-series with India and South Africa in September. The players will return across six venues, initially training on their own before progressing to small group training. Squads for specific formats will be named in due course, subject to confirmation of the proposed series.

Their training sessions will take place under the same medical guidelines and bio-secure conditions as have been in place for England Men. The 24 players will train across six different venues: National Performance Centre, Loughborough; Emerald Headingley, Yorkshire; The Kia Oval, London; Bristol County Ground, Bristol; Chester Boughton Hall CC, Lancashire; and the 1st Central County Ground, Hove.

Jonathan Finch – Director, England Women’s Cricket – said: “We remain hopeful of playing cricket this summer and it’s exciting for this group of players to be able to return to training.

“We’ve had great support from the First-Class counties with the use of their venues, and we’re grateful to them for that, and hopefully this is one step closer towards England Women returning to the field this summer.”

Kent Women’s Head Coach, David Hathrill commented, “We are delighted to have four Kent Women included within England’s back-to-training squad.

“They have been very committed to the Kent squad fitness challenges we have set throughout lockdown and it’s a great opportunity for Tammy, Alice, Kirstie and Fran to get back playing, and compete for selection.”

England Women’s ‘back-to-training’ group in full:

Tammy Beaumont (Kent/London Spirit)
Lauren Bell (Berkshire/Southern Brave)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire/Northern Superchargers)
Kate Cross (Lancashire/Manchester Originals)
Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent/Northern Superchargers)
Freya Davies (Sussex/London Spirit)
Sophia Dunkley (Surrey/Manchester Originals)
Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire/Manchester Originals)
Georgia Elwiss (Sussex/Birmingham Phoenix)
Katie George (Hampshire/Welsh Fire)
Sarah Glenn (Worcestershire/Trent Rockets)
Kirstie Gordon (Kent/Birmingham Phoenix)
Amy Jones (Warwickshire/Birmingham Phoenix)
Heather Knight (Berkshire/London Spirit)
Emma Lamb (Lancashire/Manchester Originals)
Nat Sciver (Surrey/Trent Rockets)
Anya Shrubsole (Berkshire/Southern Brave)
Bryony Smith (Surrey/Oval Invincibles)
Linsey Smith (Sussex/Northern Superchargers)
Mady Villiers (Essex/Trent Rockets)
Fran Wilson (Kent/Oval Invincibles)
Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire/Northern Superchargers)
Issy Wong (Warwickshire/Birmingham Phoenix)
Danni Wyatt (Sussex/Southern Brave)

(Photo by Ashley Allen/Getty Images)

Canterbury Christ Church University is the proud major sponsor of Kent Women’s Cricket