Skip to main content

Kent Spitfires v Lancashire Lightning T20 quarter-final team news

Friday 14th August 2015

Men’s First Team

Kent Spitfires have named a 13-man squad to face Lancashire Lightning for the NatWest T20 Blast quarter-final at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence on Saturday (2.30pm).

The South Group table-toppers have named a settled squad to take on Lancashire who can call upon Ashes-winning wicketkeeper Jos Buttler with the winners heading to Finals Day at Edgbaston on Saturday 29 August.

Head coach Jimmy Adams said: “We’re had the opportunity of a week to prepare for this fixture and the lads are looking forward to it.

“The lads have played with freedom and positivity right the way through and we’ll be looking to do the same tomorrow."

Kent Spitfires squad:17 Sam Northeast (c), 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 6 Joe Denly, 20 Sam Billings (wk), 3 Darren Stevens, 30 Fabian Cowdrey, 10 Alex Blake, 24 Adam Ball, 26 Matt Coles, 15 James Tredwell, 5 Ivan Thomas, 8 Mitch Claydon, 14 Matt Hunn.

Lancashire Lightning squad:8 Tom Bailey, 6 Jos Buttler (w), 14 Karl Brown, 16 Jordan Clark, 15 Steven Croft (c), 17 Alex Davies, 26 James Faulkner, 18 Gavin Griffiths, 27 Kyle Jarvis, 19 Arron Lilley, 7 Liam Livingstone, 4 Stephen Parry, 5 Ashwell Prince, 2 Luke Procter.

Kent Spitfires v Lancashire Lightning stats:

– This is Lancashire’s 10th quarter-final, the first time a team has reached double figures; they have won five of their previous nine, with one defeat coming in a bowl out to Somerset in 2009 after three days of rain at Old Trafford.

– 12 of the last 15 T20 games in Canterbury have been won by the team batting first.

– Sam Northeast (627) is the leading run scorer still in the competition; only Michael Klinger (654) plundered more in the group phase.

– Alex Davies was run out five times in the group stages; twice more than any other player.

– Only three players score 250+ runs and took 10+ wickets in the group phase, two of them did so for Lancashire (Steven Croft, James Faulkner and Essex’s Ravi Bopara).

Click here to buy tickets