Kent star named in England Women’s Academy Training Squad

Friday 8th November 2019


Kent star Grace Scrivens, aged just 15, has been selected for England’s Women’s Academy Training Squad in the next cycle, as part of a 28-player squad included in the programme over the next 12 months.

Scrivens’ inclusion comes off the back of a successful season representing Kent Women at multiple levels, averaging 46.16 with the bat and putting in big performances beyond her age.

The right-armer played a part in the Kent Women securing the Royal London Women’s County Championship, the Kent U17 Girls side that won the Vitality National T20 Competition and the Kent U15 Girls Squad becoming Royal London National Champions in 2019.

Community Cricket Officer Helen Fagg, who oversees the Kent Girls Pathway, said: “We’re delighted for Grace – she is reaping rewards for all her hard work.

“Her attitude in training, eagerness for information and positive influence on her team mates; coupled with her natural talent, will prove her well going forward and we are all excited to see how she can develop further as part of the England Women’s Academy.”

The England Women’s Academy will provide an individualised programme for Scrivens and the selected cohort and will offer support specific to their needs, to maximise the chances of future transition to the senior squad.

Head Coach of the England Women’s Academy, John Stanworth, said: “We look forward to working closely with this group across the next 12 months.

“The opportunity to develop their skills alongside other talented players on a regular basis is an important part of their development.

“It is an exciting group of players and we look forward to seeing them progress through the different experiences they will be exposed to both here and abroad.”

England Women’s Academy squad, 2019/20

  • Lauren Bell (Berkshire)
  • Maia Bouchier (Hampshire)
  • Alice Capsey (Surrey)
  • Charlie Dean (Hampshire)
  • Sarah Glenn (Worcestershire)
  • Danielle Gibson (Wales)
  • Amy Gordon (Surrey)
  • Freya Kemp (Sussex)
  • Lucia Kendall (Hampshire)
  • Ella McCaughan (Sussex)
  • Issy Wong (Warwickshire)

Training Squad

  • Alex Avoth (Hampshire)
  • Grace Ballinger (Warwickshire)
  • Chloe Brewer (Surrey)
  • Ria Fackrell (Warwickshire)
  • Lauren Filer (Somerset)
  • Alex Griffiths (Wales)
  • Sophie Munro (Nottinghamshire)
  • Sonali Patel (Middlesex)
  • Grace Scrivens (Kent)
  • Deeksha Sharma (Surrey)
  • Olivia Thomas (Lancashire)
  • Natasha Wraith (Somerset)

Spin Bowling Group

  • Hannah Baker (Worcestershire)
  • Helen Fenby (Durham)
  • Bethan Miles (Buckinghamshire)
  • Ellie Mitchell (Somerset)
  • Ilenia Sims (Staffordshire)
  • Sophia Smale (Wales)