Match Preview: Kent Women vs. Sussex Women

Match Preview: Kent Women vs. Sussex Women

The all-conquering Kent Women will play their final Royal London Women’s County Championship match of the tournament against local rivals Sussex with a chance to complete a ‘perfect’ season at The Spitfire Ground, St. Lawrence on Sunday (11am).

Keep up-to-date with all LIVE Kent Women scores with our brand new dedicated Twitter account here >>>

The Kent Women will also be presented with the Royal London Women’s County Championship trophy itself at this fixture.

Last Bank Holiday weekend, ‘The Horses’ came out victorious by just five runs against Yorkshire at Harrogate before Monday’s title-clincher away at Lancashire saw Kent win by six wickets.

If Kent defeat Sussex this Sunday, the new champions will have won every game they have played in this year’s tournament.

Buy tickets in advance or purchase tickets on the gate for £5 – entry is free for ALL Kent members and package holders and this fixture does not count towards one day’s worth of cricket in the Six Pack package >>>

Tash Farrant will captain the side as Kent Women players selected for their upcoming ODI series vs. West Indies this month have now joined up with the England set-up.

Kent’s Maxine Blythin currently sits eighth in the tournament’s batting rankings with 161 runs in five matches at 40.25, including 51 not out against Hampshire at Polo Farm on 19th May.

Off-spinner Megan Belt is the fifth-highest ranked bowler in this competition, with an impressive 12 wickets in five appearances at 15.17, her best figures coming last weekend away at Yorkshire (3/20).

The Horses have now won the Royal London Women’s County Championship a record eight times in their history (2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2016 & 2019) and will look to continue their dominant form going into the Vitality Women’s County T20 competition which starts on Sunday 9th June away at Nottinghamshire.

Kent Women’s only home games in this T20 tournament will be on Sunday 23rd June when they host Middlesex Women and Birmingham Bears Women at The County Ground, Beckenham.

Tickets are available in advance for £5 and will also be £5 on the gate – ALL Kent members and package holders will again enjoy free entry.

Kent Women squad in full

Tash Farrant (Captain)

Megan Belt

Maxine Blythin

Lottie Bryan

Phoebe Franklin

Lauren Griffiths

Jenni Jackson

Hannah Jelfs

Kalea Moore

Josie Penfold

Chelsey Rowson

Grace Scrivens

The Spitfire Ground, St. Lawrence in Canterbury will be hosting a Women’s One Day International between Cricket World Cup Champions England and World T20 Champions Australia on Sunday 7th July, as part of the 2019 Women’s Ashes series (2-31 July).

Tickets are available here >>>

Canterbury Christ Church University are proud sponsors of the Kent Women team >>>