No place for Key in the 14-man England squad for crucial 5th Test

Saturday 15th August 2009

England today announced a 14-man squad for the 5th npower Ashes Test against Australia at The Brit Oval starting on Thursday. There was no place for either Kent captain Rob Key (pictured)or Surrey“s Mark Ramprakash.

The uncapped Warwickshire batsman Jonathan Trott has again been included and Monty Panesar returns to the squad after missing out at Headingley, but Ravi Bopara has been omitted

ECB National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: “The final Test Match is an absolutely vital game for the team with so much at stake and we have had to make some difficult selection decisions in choosing our squad for The Brit Oval.

“Ravi Bopara has been going through a tough time with the bat in this series and we have decided to leave him out of the squad for this game. He will be extremely disappointed but remains very much part of our plans for the future and I am sure that he has the talent and temperament to regain his place in the side.

“Ravi“s omission means Jonathan Trott will make his Test debut at The Brit Oval. Having been part of the squad at Headingley, he was the next batsman in line in our view and this rewards him for the excellent form he has shown in County cricket both this summer and with England Lions over the winter.

“Ian Bell will bat at three next week, which is a position he has occupied for England before and we were delighted to see both him and Jonathan make centuries for Warwickshire this week.

“Andrew Flintoff and James Anderson“s injuries are much improved with rest and treatment and we anticipate that both players will be fit and available for selection next Thursday. “

The full squad is:
Andrew Strauss (capt) – Middlesex
James Anderson – Lancashire
Ian Bell – Warwickshire
Stuart Broad – Nottinghamshire
Paul Collingwood – Durham
Alastair Cook – Essex
Andrew Flintoff – Lancashire
Stephen Harmison – Durham
Graham Onions – Durham
Monty Panesar – Northamptonshire
Matt Prior – Sussex
Ryan Sidebottom – Nottinghamshire
Graeme Swann – Nottinghamshire
Jonathan Trott – Warwickshire