Skip to main content

Sam Billings in England squad for Ireland ODI

Tuesday 28th April 2015

Men’s First Team

Kent wicketkeeper Sam Billings has been selected in a 13-man squad for the Royal London one-day international (ODI) against Ireland on Friday May 8 at Malahide, Dublin.

The Kent Cricket Academy graduate receives his first full call-up after impressing on the England Lions tour to South Africa, following in the footsteps of predecessor Geraint Jones and Kent international glovemen Edmund Tylecote, Henry Wood, Les Ames, Hopper Levett, Godfrey Evans and Alan Knott.

Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor will lead a squad that includes five players yet to be capped for England in any format. Tim Bresnan, who last played in an ODI in March 2014, will be hoping to add to the 84 ODI caps he has already been awarded for England.

National selector James Whitaker said: “We are expecting a very competitive match against a talented Ireland side and this fixture gives us a great opportunity to look at players who have performed well in county cricket and for the Lions.

"We are starting to identify players we believe can make a real impact in limited overs cricket in the next four years as we build towards the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019 and these players have a huge opportunity to stake a claim for further opportunities this summer.

“James Taylor has played with many of these players with England and England Lions and his experiences leading Notts Outlaws make him an ideal captain to lead a young and dynamic side with Eoin Morgan currently in India at the IPL.

“We will add a number of players to the squad once the side for the final Test against West Indies has been selected.

“On behalf of the selectors I would like to congratulate all players on their selection and wish Peter Moores and the side all the very best against Ireland.”

England ODI squad to play Ireland: James Taylor (Nottinghamshire, captain), Zafar Ansari (Surrey), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire) Sam Billings (Kent), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Northamptonshire), Mark Wood (Durham)