Spitfires stay with same squad for second NatWest T20 Blast fixture

The old adage, don’t change a winning team, seems to have a gained support at Kent Cricket with Head Coach Jimmy Adams naming the same 12 players for the Spitfires’ match against Gloucestershire this Friday. ‘It was a great performance at Taunton to beat Somerset,’ stated Adams, ‘and we are keen to maintain the momentum so I saw no reason to change the squad.’

Friday’s fixture will be Kent’s first home match in the new NatWest T20 Blast competition but certainly not the first meeting in T20 between the two Counties. The Spitfires have won all five completed encounters so far, with the last match being in 2011 at Beckenham. Gloucestershire set a respectable total of 166 but were chased down in 18.5 overs with Azhar Mahmood contributing an unbeaten 106. He became only the third player for Kent, with Joe Denly and Andrew Symonds, to achieve a century in this form of the game.

The match begins 7.00pm Friday, 30 May, at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence, Canterbury, gates open at 5.00pm.

The full squad is:

1. Rob Key

2. Sam Northeast

3. Daniel Bell-Drummond

4. Brendan Nash

5. Darren Stevens

6. Alex Blake

7. Sam Billings (w)

8. Adam Riley

9. Adam Ball

10. Mitch Claydon

11. Doug Bollinger

12. David Griffiths

Injury Updated

Mark Davies, Calum Haggett and Ivan Thomas unavailable due to injuries

James Tredwell – On England duties