Stevens awarded Walter Lawrence Trophy for fastest hundred of the season

Saturday 28th September 2013

Men’s First Team

This year's Walter Lawrence Trophy, awarded for the fastest hundred of the season, has been won by Kent’s Darren Stevens, who battered a blistering 44-ball century against Sussex in the Yorkshire Bank 40 match at Canterbury on June 19.

Chasing a formidable Sussex total of 336 for 5, the 37-year-old all-rounder hit 10 fours and 6 sixes in his hundred, in 53 frenzied minutes, to propel Kent to victory by 3 wickets with 9 balls remaining. A consistent match-winner with bat and ball, Stevens finished with 118 off 53 balls, including 12 fours and 7 sixes, and chipped in with two key wickets.

Stevens made his debut for Leicestershire in 1997 before joining Kent at the end of 2004. He has also played for the England Lions, while his limited-over prowess has seen him signed up by Dhaka Gladiators and Otago. In first-class cricket he has scored 11,578 runs at an average of over 35, including 28 centuries – the most recent of which was a match-winning, unbeaten 205 on the last day of the season – and taken 202 wickets at 30 apiece. In limited-over matches Stevens has scored 9,651 runs averaging over 30, and taken 161 wickets at under 30 apiece.

Stevens is the joint-second fastest Trophy winner – in terms of balls faced – along with Graham Napier and Kevin O’Brien who also scored 44-ballers, whilst last year’s winner, Scott Styris, remains the fastest with his hundred off 37 balls. Stevens will receive a cheque for £3,000 along with the Trophy at the Walter Lawrence Trophy presentation dinner in The Long Room at Lord’s on October 15.

Now in its 79th year, the Walter Lawrence Trophy is open to all domestic county competitions as well as One-Day Internationals, Twenty20 Internationals and Test Matches in England.