Tredwell named in England T20/ODI squad for Australia series

Friday 10th December 2010

The national selectors today named Kent“s James Tredwell (pictured)in England“s Twenty20 and One-Day International squad for the forthcoming series against Australia.

Andrew Strauss will captain England“s ODI squad throughout a seven-match series while Paul Collingwood will captain the current WorldTwenty20 Champions for a two-match series against Australia.

Warwickshire bowler Chris Woakes is the only uncapped player named in the squad and he will be joined by Somerset“s Craig Kieswetter (Twenty20 series only), plus Sussex pair Luke Wright and Michael Yardy ahead of the first Twenty20 against Australia on January 12 in Adelaide.

Commenting on Tredwell“s selection, Kent team director, Paul Farbrace, said: “This is a further honour for James and well deserved. He has put in some fantastic performances with the England Performance Party and shown his true capabilities. It is a great time to be attached to the England set-up and he fully deserves this for his continued hard work and dedication.”

England T20 and ODI squad: Andrew Strauss (Middlesex) – (ODI Captain) (ODI squad only), Paul Collingwood (Durham) – (T20 Captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Steven Davies (Surrey), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset) – (T20 squad only), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Tremlett (Surrey), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex), Michael Yardy (Sussex)

Picture:Getty Images