Who will follow Freddie and win the 2009 Compton Miller medal?

Monday 6th July 2009

They lit up a post-War generation. They were the dashing heroes of their day. England“s Denis Charles Scott Compton and Australia“s Keith Ross Miller were true legends of cricket.

It is fitting that these national icons are honoured by the England and Wales Cricket Board and Cricket Australia and that the third Compton Miller medal will be presented to the Player of the Series in this 2009 npower Ashes Test series.

Designed and manufactured by the Royal Mint in South Wales, the medal is being carved from 22 carat Welsh gold and will be presented to the winner after the final npower Test match at The Brit Oval in late August.

The inaugural winner in 2005 was Andrew Flintoff (pictured) who said: "I was delighted to be the first winner of the Compton Miller Medal in 2005. It was a special moment in my career and something that I will always treasure.

"It’s important that we recognise the achievements of past players like Denis Compton and Keith Miller who have helped make the Ashes such a great sporting occasion and I am sure that there will be plenty of players in both dressing rooms who will be vying for the award this summer."

Australia“s captain Ricky Ponting was the winner in 2006/7 after leading his side to a 5-0 victory over England. Ponting said: "The Compton Miller medal recognises the individual who, in the view of the judging panel, has the biggest impact on an ashes series. the success of the team is, of course, paramount in ashes cricket, but whoever wins the Compton Miller medal will have had a significant impact on this series. It is a significant honour for any cricketer to receive the medal."

ECB chief executive David Collier added: "I think that Compton and Miller encapsulated all that is good about England and Australia contests. They played the game in a positive but sportsmanlike way.

"They were both winners but also were both flamboyant and exciting individuals. They captured the imagination of their countries. We have seen this summer that there is nothing like an Ashes series to fire that enthusiasm."

The winner of the Compton Miller Medal will be decided by Geoff Miller, the ECB national Selector, and Andrew Hilditch, chairman of Australia“s selection panel.

Picture:Getty Images