Alan Albury Awards 2013

Friday 13th September 2013

Men’s First Team

Alan Albury Awards 2013

At lunch today, on day three of the Kent v Essex LV= County Championship match, the Alan Albury Awards were presented at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence.

The Awards were established in memory of Alan Albury, a long serving Chairman of the Association of Kent Cricket Clubs and subsequently the Kent Cricket Board, and they honour those who have devoted their time and effort to the service of their club over many years without financial reward.

Today's Awards were presented by Derek Underwood, and we would like to extend our congratulations to all of this year's recipients.

This year's winners are:

Peter Blockley – Benenden Cricket Club

Member since 1981

Club President since 2008

Chairman 1985 – 2007

'A continuous cornerstone of the Cricket Club'

Graham Brown – Great Chart Cricket Club

Member since 1985

Treasurer or Assistant Treasurer since 1985

2nd XI Captain

A leading member of the Fundraising Team for the club's new Pavilion

Qualified Umpire on the Kent League Panel 2003 – 2010

Paul Cant – Greenheath Cricket Club

Club member since 1982, but scorer for the club before becoming a member. Started scoring aged 10

Club Secretary 1983 – 1999

Fixture Secretary 1983 and since 1987

Team Secretary since 1995

Club Scorer since 1974

Terry Cotton – Nelson Cricket Club

Played over 900 games for the Club

Club Chairman since 2007

Treasurer 1981 – 1996 and in 2002

Club Captain 1994 – 1995

Umpire since 2009

Assistance with ground preparation

'Terry is ever present at all club functions and activities, and has been a wonderful servant to the Club'

Dennis Fordham – Nurstead Cricket Club

Member since 1963

Chairman since 1973

Groundsman 1970 – 1985

'A remarkable long period of service as Chairman and Player to his club'

Nigel Phipps – East Langton Cricket Club

Member since 1974

President since 2010

Chairman 2006 – 2010

Treasurer 1979 – 1989

Fixture Secretary 1990 – 1995

Captain 1996 – 1999

Umpire and Scorer 1999 – 2006

'In every way an outstanding club member'

Jonathan Stringer – Old Dartech and Wilmingtonians Cricket Club

Member since 1981

Club Scorer – also in charge of kit and tea making

Treasurer 2nd XI 1983 – 1985, Club Treasurer 1986 – 2011

Has run the club's 100 Club for the past 20 years

When playing has batted No. 11 and has a record of 77 not outs

Ian Walker – Chelsfield Park Cricket Club

Member since 1952

Regular member of Sevenoaks Vine 1st XI in the 1970s and 1980s

Involved in all aspects of Club Administration, including Secretary for 25 years

Respected coach and mentor at Sevenoaks School