Bexley lose national title in tied match

Tuesday 12th September 2023


Bexley lose national title in tied match

There was disappointment for Bexley Cricket Club, in their ECB National Club Championship final, at Lords, when they lost to Cuckney Cricket Club, from Nottinghamshire, with the scores tied in their 40 over a side match.

The LV= Insurance County Championship comes to a head!

Buy tickets now

Bexley were beaten, and relinquished the title, they won the previous season, by virtue of having lost more wickets in their innings, than their opponents. The Kent League side scored 219 for 9, Calum Basey 78, Matthew Stiddard 59 not out, Joe Worrell 3 for 30.

The Mansfield based side timed their innings to perfection, needing nine runs off the last over, for an outright win, but knowing that eight would be enough, with their wickets in hand, and they finished on 219 for 5, for a five wicket victory.

In a photo finish, which went to the last delivery of the match, Cuckney scraped home by the narrowest of margins, scrambling the two runs they needed off the final ball bowled. Some solid batting from Will Butler 69, and Nick Langford 59 set up the victory, albeit in unusual circumstances.

Bexley did the Kent League proud, by reaching the final for a second successive season, but couldn’t quiet repeat their previous success.

By Peter Burrowes, photo courtesy of Steve Griggs

International T20 cricket is back at The Spitfire Ground after 12 years next Summer!

International T20 cricket will return to Canterbury on Thursday 11 July 2024 when The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence hosts the 3rd match in England’s IT20 series against New Zealand.

It is only the second time that Canterbury has hosted a Women’s International T20 match in its long history, and will be another boost for the continued growth of women’s cricket in Kent.

Registration for access to our ticket ballot is now open. Please complete the form below:

Sign-up for our ticket ballot here

The ballot will open from from Monday 18 September.

Please note: there is only one entry per e-mail address supplied. Duplicate entries will not be counted.