Skip to main content

Billings and Bell-Drummond available for Spitfires v Eagles T20 (Friday, 7pm)

Thursday 21st July 2016

Men’s First Team

Daniel Bell-Drummond and Sam Billings have been released from England Lions duty to play for Kent Spitfires in the NatWest T20 Blast against Essex Eagles.

A near-capacity crowd is expected at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence on Friday (7pm) as the duo are allowed to play before the Lions double-header at the same ground on Sunday and Monday.

Both Lions hit 50s against Sri Lanka in Northampton on Thursday and will join the 13-man squad for the must-win clash billed as The Battle of the Bridge.

Kent Spitfires face Essex at home before a trip to the Kia Oval next Friday and head coach Jimmy Adams says the side will be giving their all to continue the run after three successive wins propelled Kent back into the top four.

Adams said: “The lads made a big statement by winning both our recent T20 games in the Westcountry on consecutive nights.

“The bottom line is that we found ourselves in a situation where we have to win virtually every game to stand a chance of success so hopefully we can put a winning run together.

“It’s a case of getting the players into a good mindset and believing in their ability to get the job done."

Kagiso Rabada plays the final match of his spell at Kent and Matt Coles returns to the squad after regaining full fitness after a four-week absence.

Fabian Cowdrey (appendicectomy), Calum Haggett (ankle) and Matt Hunn (ankle) are sidelined with injury.

Tonight's match will be all-ticket: no tickets on gate! Limited tickets while stocks last at

Gates open at 5pm, arrive early to avoid queues.

Park and Ride to The Spitfire Ground from New Dover Road (CT1 3EJ) for just £1 after 4pm.

Kent Spitfires squad:17 Sam Northeast (c), 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 6 Joe Denly, 7 Sam Billings (w), 10 Alex Blake, 3 Darren Stevens, 24 Adam Ball, 26 Matt Coles, 8 Mitch Claydon, 15 James Tredwell, 18 David Griffiths, 19 Sam Weller, 52 Kagiso Rabada.

Essex Eagles squad: 25 Ravi Bopara (c), 8 Kishen Velani, 32 Jaik Mickleburgh, 10 Nick Browne, 21 Tom Westley, 27 Ryan Ten Doeschate, 99 Ashar Zaidi, 28 Dan Lawrence, 7 James Foster (w), 17 Graham Napier, 67 Callum Taylor, 94 Matt Quinn, 22 Paul Walter.

Tonight's match will be all-ticket: no tickets on gate.

Click here for tickets to the final T20 home group game of 2016