Skip to main content

Billings and Bell-Drummond set for England Lions home game

Saturday 23rd July 2016

Men’s First Team

Daniel Bell-Drummond and Sam Billings will wear the Three Lions on their home ground as England Lions play Pakistan A on Sunday and Sri Lanka A on Monday at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence.

England Lions have added the young Hampshire batsman Tom Alsop to their squad for the last two matches of the Tri-Series against Pakistan A and Sri Lanka A in Canterbury.

Click here to buy tickets and save on gate prices

The 20-year-old left-hander, who opened for England Under-19s last summer and has played regularly in Hampshire’s first team this season, replaces Joe Clarke, who has a side injury.

Alsop will link up with the Lions squad in Canterbury on Saturday, when Sam Curran will also join the squad, having been selected for the last two matches of the series only to allow him to play for Surrey last week.

Toby Roland-Jones, who joined the Lions after he was released from the England squad for the first Investec Test against Pakistan and has played in the first two matches, will also stay with the squad for the rest of the series.

The Lions won their first two matches of the Tri-Series in Cheltenham and Northampton last week, meaning they could secure top spot with a second victory against Pakistan A at the Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence on Sunday – before they play Sri Lanka A at the same venue in the last match of the series on Monday.

Entry is free for under 16s and all Kent Members. Gates open at 9am.

Park and Ride from New Dover Road (CT1 3EJ) for £3 or park at Simon Langton Girls Grammar School.

England Lions squad: Dawid Malan (c), Sam Billings (wk), Daniel Bell-Drummond, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Liam Livingstone, Brett D’Oliveira, Tom Alsop, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Toby Roland-Jones, Mark Wood, George Garton, Saqib Mahmood.

Pakistan A squad: Sharjeel Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Jahid Ali, Saud Shakil, Baber Azam (c), Umar Siddiq, Abdul Rehman Muzamil, Hassan Ali, Amir Yamin, Muhammad Abbas, Ammad Butt, Bilawal Bhatti, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Asghar, Shahdab Khan, Muhammad Hassan
Sri Lanka A squad: Ashan Priyanjan (c), Mahela Udawatta, Udara Jayasundara, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Niroshan Dickwella, Kithruwan Vithanage, Angelo Perera, Minod Bhanuka, Charith Asalamka, Sachith Pathirana, Thisara Perera, Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Mohamed Dilsad, Asitha Fernando, Ramith Rambukwella, Lakshan Sandaken.