Skip to main content

Blake, Coles and Tredwell in Kent squad to play at Derbyshire

Matt Coles returns from suspension to help lead Kent’s attack against Derbyshire in the Specsavers County Championship.

Alex Blake and James Tredwell also return to the squad as Darren Stevens (knee) and Adam Riley (side) are unavailable.

Blake said: “I’ve just got to stay in the same good place I am at the minute with my red-ball cricket. Play my way, being positive but working on what I’ve been training on over the winter.

“For me it doesn’t take a great deal to switch to red-ball cricket.”

Kent squad:17 Sam Northeast (c), 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 48 Tom Latham, 6 Joe Denly, 58 Sean Dickson, 10 Alex Blake, 12 Adam Rouse (wk), 25 Calum Haggett, 26 Matt Coles, 15 James Tredwell, 8 Mitchell Claydon, 14 Matt Hunn, 5 Ivan Thomas.

Derbyshire squad: 1. Billy Godleman (Captain), 22. Chesney Hughes, 72. Hamish Rutherford, 77. Wayne Madsen, 4. Neil Broom, 57. Shiv Thakor, 20. Matt Critchley, 23. Tom Poynton, 8. Tom Milnes, 28. Tony Palladino, 36. Ben Cotton, 15. Tom Taylor

Click here for live scorecard and commentary from Derby

Derbyshire v Kent stats:

o Kent have only lost one of their last five matches against Derbyshire (W2 D2).

o Derbyshire however, have gone five games at home without defeat to Kent (W2 D3).

o Kent are unbeaten in four matches on the road (W1 D3).

o Chesney Hughes (Derbyshire) has scored 50+ in five innings thus far in 2016; no batsman in either division has managed to do it more often.