Skip to main content

Claydon grabs five in see-saw second day at Cardiff

Mitch Claydon grabbed a five-wicket haul and Adam Rouse claimed five catches either side of Glamorgan's record seventh-wicket stand against Kent in the Specsavers County Championship.

Graham Wagg and Craig Meschede rescued Glamorgan with a partnership of 160 in 33 overs for the seventh wicket after the Kent seamers reduced the hosts to 137 for six.

Click here for tickets to Friday's T20 and Sunday's Championship matches

Their efforts enabled Glamorgan to reach a total of 351 on a fresh pitch that encouraged the seamers, and after Kent had six overs to face at the end of the day, they ended on 10 for nought.

After the morning session had been lost to rain, 104.5 overs have now been lost in two days, Claydon soon made inroads by taking three for 17 in 28 balls, including Will Bragg and Chris Cooke, who had added 88 for the third wicket.

Bragg chased a wide one which he nicked to the wicketkeeper Adam Rouse before Cooke was surprised by a lifter which was taken at third slip.

Aneurin Donald was also out to a loose stroke, and when David Lloyd’s enterprising innings ended with Calum Haggett’s second ball of the day, Kent would have been pleased by their bowlers’ efforts.

The seventh wicket began cautiously but then produced an array of attacking strokes, with Wagg reaching 50 by taking 10 runs from Tredwell’s only over of the innings.

Meschede was dropped twice on 43 and 46 before reaching his half-century. Wagg was 17 runs away from his second century against Kent this season when he edged Claydon to second slip, before Meschede was dismissed by Haggett, who took his third wicket when Timm Van Der Gugten became wicketkeeper Rouse’s fourth victim.

A rousing partnership of 33 between Andrew Salter and Michael Hogan enabled Glamorgan to gain a fourth batting point by passing 350, while Claydon was rewarded for his wholehearted effort by taking five for 106.

Wagg and Meschede’s partnership was a record for the seventh wicket against Kent, exceeding the 107 previously set by Eifion Jones and Arthur Francis at Canterbury in 1982.


Click here for tickets to Friday's T20 and Sunday's Championship matches