Skip to main content

Commanding Cowdrey performance for Lordswood

Sunday 8th May 2016

Fabian Cowdrey showed his all-round abilities with a commanding 150 and three wickets as Lordswood beat Tunbridge Wells at The Nevill Ground in the Shepherd Neame Premier League.

The in-form all-rounder gave the visitors the perfect platform with nineteen boundaries and two sixes in a 144-ball knock of 153, supported by opener Oliver Lea (55) in an opening stand of 164.

Chasing 281 to win, Lordswood struck regularly with Amjad Khan taking 2-29 and Jack Laraman’s 3-49 leaving Wells’ lower order too mch to do.

Cowdrey claimed 3-29 in a tidy ten-over spell with resistance from Chris and Alex Williams both passing 50 for the hosts.

Adam Ball and Sam Weller took three wickets each as newcomers Tenterden won their first Premier League game at Sevenoaks Vine.

Chasing 245 to win, Tenterden’s top order fired with the top four scoring more than 40.

Opener Chris Vernon struck 75 from 76 balls before New Zealander Bharat Popli’s 49 not out and a powerful 41 off just 31 balls from Adam Ball helped Tenterden to victory with 4.4 overs to spare.

Bromley captain Imran Qayyum’s fine spell was not enough to secure victory. The 22-year-old slow left armer took 4-25 in ten overs as they restricted Blackheath to 184 for eight in 50 overs.

In reply, Yasir Arafat top-scored with 50 but Tanweer Sikander took 4-18 and three wickets apiece from Jahid Ahmed and Thomas Mees helped dismiss Bromley for 170.

Adam Riley took 1-23 in six overs for Bexley as they lost by eight wickets to Hartley.

Keeper-batsman Matt Stiddard top-scored for Bexley with 52 as Daniel Redwood’s new ball spell accounted for the top three batsmen.

Hartley chased down 165 to win with ease thanks to 92 from James Hockley and an unbeaten 51 from Dan Stickels.

Alex Blake did not bat as Beckenhamdefeated Dartford by nine wickets with Charlie Hartley taking the only wicket in the first over before the hosts chased down the 133 victory target with more than 26 overs to spare.


Beckenham 133-1 beat Dartford 132-10 by 9 wickets

Blackheath 184-8 beat Bromley 170-10 by 14 runs

Hartley 162-2 beat Bexley 164-10 by 8 wickets

Sevenoaks Vine 244-8 lost to Tenterden 248-3 by 7 wickets

Tunbridge Wells 237-10 lost to Lordswood 280-7 by 43 runs