Cook and van Jaarsveld join Stevens in earning end of season awards

Tuesday 21st September 2010

The end of season awards took place at a special lunch at the St Lawrence Ground yesterday, with all-rounder Darren Stevens taking the top prize of Kent County Cricket Club“s Player of the Season for 2010.

He enjoyed a fine season and shone with both bat and ball, in every form of the game during the 2010 season. His fine displays culminated in a call-up to the England Lions squad and he helped them to a Triangular Series win. The right-hander smashed 979 LV= county championship runs at an average of 42.56, and was also prolific in the shorter form of the game – averaging 41 runs in 13 t20 outings. The former Leicestershire player also excelled with the ball after being given first use by captain Rob Key towards the end of the season. Exploiting swinging conditions, the medium pacer took 28 first-class wickets and 12 t20 victims. His award, which was presented during the final home game of the season, was richly deserved.

The winner of the Batsman of the Year award was no surprise either as South African run-machine Martin van Jaarsveld took the honour. Kent“s vice-captain plundered 1,188 championship runs at an average of 44 – a haul that included three centuries. He also topped the t20 charts, posting a further 421 runs. The stylish run-maker also has to make space on his mantelpiece for a further trophy as he also collected the Fielder of the Year award. The resident slipper pouched 36 LV= CC victims in the cordon – 15 more than second-placed James Tredwell, with wicketkeeper Geraint Jones being exempt from the list.

Finally, Kent“s Bowler of the Year award went to the ever-reliable Simon Cook. The former-Middlesex seamer finished second in the LV= CC wicket taking charts, after capturing 37 victims at an average of just over thirty. However it was in limited overs cricket where Cook“s nagging line and length reaped its major rewards. A combined CB40 and t20 haul of 31 wickets makes impressive reading as he was deservedly rewarded for his efforts.

Picture by Sarah Ansell:Martin van Jaarsveld (left) proudly holding his two trophies and Simon Cook with hisBowler of the Year award.