Crawley to join Hobart Hurricanes for BBL stint

Tuesday 22nd November 2022

Men’s First Team

Crawley to join Hobart Hurricanes for BBL stint

Zak Crawley has been signed to a major overseas T20 tournament for the first time after being named as an international replacement player for the Hobart Hurricanes in the KFC Big Bash League (BBL).

Be a part of Kent Cricket this coming season by becoming a Member of the Club.

Club Membership remains the best and most cost-effective way to enjoy every day of Kent cricket in 2023, with all formats included as well as complimentary entry to England and Sri Lanka’s Women’s One-Day International this coming September at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence.

Buy 2023 Membership now

The Kent opener will join the squad as a replacement player for Hurricanes international recruit, Shadab Khan, when he is required for national duties during Pakistan’s home limited overs series, & will play for Hobart after the conclusion of England’s Test Series there.

A 2021 Vitality Blast winner, Crawley has an impressive strike rate of 145.08 at the top of the order, having amassed 1,284 runs over 47 appearances, including a personal top-score of 108* in 2020 – becoming the sixth men’s player to score a hundred of more for Kent in each form of the game.

He could potentially face his county captain Sam Billings in the tournament, who was drafted to Brisbane Heat for the BBL this Winter.

Other names associated with Kent that have worn the purple of the Hobart Hurricanes include new signing Michael Hogan, Qais Ahmad, Doug Bollinger & Jordan Cox, who had a short playing stint with the Hurricanes in last year’s BBL.

On joining Hobart, Crawley said: “I’m really excited to take part in the Big Bash for the first time.

“From afar, the Hurricanes seem to be awash with talent both in terms of the list they have built for on-field success, but also the quality list of support stuff they have on it.

“I’m looking forward to taking part in what I hope will be a very successful Australian Summer.”

BBL|12 does not overlap with the English county season & begins on 13 December, with the Final taking place on 4 February 2023.

2023 Membership is now on sale – guarantee your place at the home of the One-Day Cup winners this coming Summer, & gain access to the best seats in the house.

More Information