Skip to main content

Darren Stevens included in England squad for Hong Kong Sixes competition

Friday 7th October 2011

England selectorshave announceda seven-strong squadto take part in the Hong Kong Sixes competition later this month, whichincludes Kent's Darren Stevens.

The squad will beunder the captaincy of Surrey captain Rory Hamilton-Brown and management of Surrey’s Professional Cricket Manager, Chris Adams.

12 teams will take part in the competition with England drawn in a group alongside defending champions Australia, Bangladesh and Ireland. The competition will be staged at Kowloon Cricket Club from the 28th to 30th of October, and Hamilton-Brown will be looking to secure England’s first win in the competition since 2008.

Darren Stevens revealed in his Kent Cricketblog yesterdaythat he would be in the squad and was looking forward to returning to the Hong Kong Sixes competition.

The full England squad will be:

Rory Hamilton-Brown (Surrey) Captain

Rikki Clarke (Warwickshire)

Josh Cobb (Leicestershire)

Chris Read (Nottinghamshire)

Tom Smith (Lancashire)

Darren Stevens (Kent)

Peter Trego (Somerset)

Manager: Chris Adams (Surrey)

About the Karp Group Hong Kong Cricket Sixes 2011

Organised by the Hong Kong Cricket Association since 1992, the Hong Kong Cricket Sixes is the only international cricket event held in Hong Kong. The Hong Kong Cricket Sixes is fully sanctioned by the world’s governing body for cricket, the International Cricket Council, and title sponsored by Karp Group. The tournament has been broadcast live since 2008 and in 2010 reached over 80 million households on the Indian subcontinent, across Southeast Asia, the Middle East, Australia and South Africa, as well as being packaged for distribution in North America, the United Kingdom, Europe and China.

For more information on the competition, please visit the website: