Denly debuts as England bat in Belfast

Wednesday 26th August 2009

Ireland Vs England – Only ODI
Venue: Civil Service Cricket Club, Stormont, Belfast

England won the toss and elected to bat

KENT’SJoe Denly (pictured)will make his England debutagainst Ireland in Belfast. The talented opener is named in an England side captained by Paul Collingwood – in the absence of the rested Andrew Strauss.

Former Kent wicketkeeper Niall O’Brien plays for Ireland.

Ireland: WTS Porterfield (c), GC Wilson, PR Stirling, NJ O’Brien (w), KJ O’Brien, AC Botha, AR White, DT Johnston, RM West, AR Cusack, WK McCallan

England: RS Bopara, JL Denly, OA Shah, IJL Trott, PD Collingwood (c), MJ Prior (w), LJ Wright, AU Rashid, GP Swann, TT Bresnan, RJ Sidebottom