England womenís Ashes squad named for Australia tour in January

Monday 29th November 2010

England women“s selectors have named a 15-player squad for the tour of Australia in January, which includes three Kent players.

Charlotte Edwards will skipper the side with Lydia Greenway (pictured)and Susie Rowe also included. Pace bowler Katherine Brunt returns to the squad, following a period of strength and conditioning, along with Holly Colvin and Beth Morgan.

England will play three One Day Internationals, a five match international Twenty20 series and a four-day Test for the women“s Ashes from 5th-25th January.

The 1st and 2nd Twenty20 matches will be played directly before England men play Australia on 12th and 14th January, at the Adelaide Oval and the MCG respectively. Both matches will be broadcast live on Sky Sports.

Clare Connor, Head of England Women“s Cricket said: “After an unbeaten tour to Sri Lanka, the selectors have made a few adjustments to the squad that will travel to Australia. The recent Sri Lanka tour successfully exposed some of our recent Academy graduates to international cricket, all of whom took their opportunities with Susie Rowe and Fran Wilson retaining their spots for the tour to Australia. Every cricketer dreams of a tour to Australia and I am confident that this squad will return with many successes to speak of, most notably with the Ashes retained.”

England women“s squad
Charlotte Edwards, Captain (Kent), Jenny Gunn, vice captain (Nottinghamshire), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Holly Colvin (Sussex), Lydia Greenway (Kent), Lauran Griffiths (Cheshire), Isa Guha (Berkshire), Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), Heather Knight (Berkshire), Laura Marsh (Sussex), Beth Morgan (Middlesex), Susie Rowe (Kent),
Claire Taylor (Berkshire), Fran Wilson (Somerset), Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)

England Women v Australia Women, January 2011
One Day International Series
Wednesday, 5 January, 1st ODI Perth, 10.00am
Friday, 7 January, 2nd ODI Perth, 2.30pm
Sunday, 9 January, 3rd ODI Perth, 10.00am

Twenty20 Series
Wednesday, 12 January, 1st T20 Adelaide Oval*, 2.00pm
Friday 14 January, 2nd T20 Melbourne MCG*, 2.35pm
Sunday, 16 January, 3rd T20, Canberra, 12.05pm
Monday, 17 January, 4th T20, Canberra, 3.05pm
Tuesday, 18 January, 5th T20, Canberra, 3.05pm

Ashes Test
Saturday 22-Tuesday 25, January, Sydney Bankstown, 10.30am

*These matches will be played directly before England v Australia (men) 1st and 2nd International Twenty20 matches.